AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: "Faulty Sempron? Or is it the MOBO?"
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/19/2005 07:23 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/19/2005 07:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
0pnroute
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/19/2005

My New System Specs:
----------------------

-CHAINTECH VNF3-250 Socket 754 nForce 3 S/N: 0501007664
-CHAINTECH SA5500T2 Geforce FX5500 256MB DDR AGP 4X/8X
-AMD Sempron 2600+ Palermo 800MHz FSB Socket 754
-Rosewill 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered

-I recently purchased and built a completely new computer system.
After everything was connected, I powered on the system and everything worked great except the monitor didn't turn on. I double checked all internal and external cables. Everything was right. I tried a different monitor, a different video card (3DFX Voodoo 32MB 4X), and a different memory module (Kingston 256MB DDR 400 Unbuffered). The monitor still did not work. The new memory, 2 video cards, and both monitors work fine on my other system. I followed the installation instructions provided in both the MOBO and the CPU. What is going on? Any help would be appreciated!
 09/19/2005 11:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Old Camper
Senior Member

Posts: 1741
Joined: 06/13/2004

If you've got a PCI video card lying around somewhere, give that a go. The AGP slot on the motherboard might be out.

Other than that, what kind of power supply are you using (Include the amps on each rail, please)?


Respectfully,

Old Camper
Proud sporting shooter and member of the SSAA.


-------------------------
One day, humanity will advance forward and leave behind our humble little world to reach innumerable heights of technology, evolution and civilization, to bring our imaginations into the unsuspecting universe and ourselves... play God.
| Email/MSN: old_camper@hotmail.com | Visit the SSAA | IRC @ #forums.amd.irc on irc.d
 09/20/2005 06:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JimmyFox
Senior Member

Posts: 487
Joined: 07/04/2004

I see 2 main causes of the specific problem.

1) Motherboard
2) PSU

Chaintech motherboard have always caused me problems. Especiall these nForce3 based ones.
I suggest you get a new mobo.

The PSU is a critical component. Make sure it has good specs (15-17A or higher @+12V etc.) and use a multimeter to check the voltages under heavy load.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom 9750, DFi LanParty UT M2R, 4x1GB TeamGroup Xtreem Dark 1066, Sapphire HD4850, 2xWD Raptor ADFD 74GB, 2x640GB WDC SE16
 09/20/2005 08:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
uteck
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/20/2005

I have the same problem with a 7NJL6 and Chaintech support seems to be blaming the CPU. Here is the email they sent me.
QUOTEPlease clear CMOS (jp1 jumper as stated in your manual) than boot your
system again to see if you are able to get a post. If you do not get a post,
remove your memory than turn on your system again to hear if there are any
beeps. If there are beeps coming from the board, this means your board is
functional and your memory must be re-seated or be replaced. If there are no
beeps, than you must strip down your board to just your CPU. Re-seat your
CPU and apply pressure before locking it down. Attach your fan/heatsink onto
the CPU, clear CMOS again, and turn on your system again to determine if
there are beeps once again. If it fails to make a sound, have another cpu
being tested onto this machine. The last thing you can do is to ground the
motherboard onto a telephone book or similar and have it powered on that
way. Otherwise have your power supply investigated.
I did all this and still have nothing, no beeps, no video, just spinning fans. I have not tried it on the phone book yet, but I suppose I will try that just encase the board is shorting. /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' />
 09/20/2005 08:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
uteck
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/20/2005

Well, I noticed the board speaker was backwards, which is why there was no beeps. There is no way to tell which is the proper way to plug it in. After removing the board and putting it on the static bag it came in, then clearing the CMOS, it booted up, so there must be something making contact with the board and case and shorting it. /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />
 09/22/2005 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
0pnroute
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/19/2005

I didn't realize that there was a separate 4-pin power connector for the newer motherboard. I plugged that in and everything works great! Thanks for all your help!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information