AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: my mobo
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/28/2005 11:37 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/28/2005 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mgame2k
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Joined: 10/14/2003

Alright geniouses!

I am running a Gigabyte 7NNXP Nforce2 mobo. According to Gigabytes site. After installing the lastest bios update. I can use a Sempron up to the 3k model. Here's the tricky part to me and only cause I had probs on my previous mobo.

Since I'm using the PCB version 1.0 and M/B version 1.0. Would that make it so that I couldn't use a sempron.

http://www.giga-byte.com/Mothe...uppo...st_GA-7NNXP.htm' ">http://www.giga-byte.com/Mothe...pportList_GA-7NNXP.htm

Now let me give an example: Last mobo ASUS A7V333 PCB Ver2.0 can run an AMD Athalon 3k with the latest bios. However, since the model I had is 1.0 even with the latest bios it could never run the barton cores.

So now the Gigabyte 7NNXP is on the Nforce2 Ultra's. I've also had the unlucky fortune of gettng a fake xp3200, so I am thinking for goin with a Sempron 2800 or 3k to get to 2Ghz.

So what I'm lookin for here is someone with a close setup to main who's doin this.

Well you know the mobo, I am running 1Gb of RAM PC2700 and all the latest drivers.

-------------------------
Gigabyte 7NNXP bios F20
XP 1700 1733Mhz (12.5x138)
1Gb PC2700
GFX 5600 ULTRA
Audigy Gamer
Creative Inspire 5.1
4 100Gb Maxtor 133 HD's
16 DVD-ROM
40/12/40 Plextor CDRW
DVD RW Lite-on
Antec Midtower 520Watt
Cordless Logitech Mouse and Keyboard
32in TV for monitor
 09/29/2005 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

The sempron 3000+ socket A could also be described as an xp2700 barton.

xp2600 11.5x166 = 1917MHz
sempron3000+ 12x166 = 2000MHz.
Lesser semprons have the thoroughbred core (256kb L2 cache).

Any should run fine. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

The only thing which could possibly be a problem is the +12V rail on the psu, as I mentioned before, since you have quite a lot of hardware. Antecs are good psus though. You'll need maybe 20A or possibly a bit more on this rail to be on the safe side. Something to bear in mind.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information