AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 2500+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/24/2005 03:47 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/24/2005 03:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zoran_KS
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/24/2005

I have sempron 2500+ on a7v8x-x motherboard.Can some one tell me how far can I o/c it.I have 512mb ddr400 Pqi memory(everest recognize it as pc3200 ddr sdram,but I am not so sure).I have read topics on this forum and i know the limitation of this mobo,and my PSU is 400w(no name):
+12v 18a
+5v 40a
+3.3v 28a
-5v 0,5a
-12v 0,5a
+5v/sb 1,5a
Is this ok for some o/c?
Any sugestion is helpful
 05/24/2005 03:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

Well, as you know, because of chipset limitations, the overclock will not be much (at least a stable one). There is no 6th divider for the board, since it only supports up to 333 MHz FSB. In other words, it will not overclock safely, without raising the PCI and AGP buses. In my opinion, it is not worth risking your hardware for a small overclock.

If you really, really want to try overclocking, raise the FSB speed in 1 MHz increments, and keep going until you experience instability, or if the system will not POST. If it does not POST, then the CPU likely needs a voltage increase - if that's the case, raise it up one level in the bios.

What I would do to improve your performance a little, though, is go into your bios, and verify your RAM speed is 166 MHz (333 DDR). This way, the RAM will be synchronized with the FSB, 333 to 333. The RAM running at 400 MHz only means it has to wait on the FSB to transfer data at a slower rate which can do two things:

1) Degrade overall system performance

2) Degrade system stability

Have you read this' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=16788 guide, on how to overclock?


-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/24/2005 04:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

If you're not sure about your memory google memtest86, download the program and make a bootable floppy disk.

You do need good quality memory that's well suited to the motherboard, but I'd say you've good a reasonable chance of getting close to 200MHz clock if not all the way.

You need to try small increments in clock speed and run memtest and prime95
to see if it's stable at each increase.

Speedfan is handy for monitoring temperatures.

Leave the Vcore unchanged .

"no name" psus- a bit of a lottery. The spec is slightly strange.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 05/24/2005 04:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

QUOTE(AMD808 @ May 23 2005, 11:59 PM)Well, as you know, because of chipset limitations, the overclock will not be much (at least a stable one).  There is no 6th divider for the board, since it only supports up to 333 MHz FSB.  In other words, it will not overclock safely, without raising the PCI and AGP buses.  In my opinion, it is not worth risking your hardware for a small overclock.

If you really, really want to try overclocking, raise the FSB speed in 1 MHz increments, and keep going until you experience instability, or if the system will not POST.  If it does not POST, then the CPU likely needs a voltage increase - if that's the case, raise it up one level in the bios.

What I would do to improve your performance a little, though, is go into your bios, and verify your RAM speed is 166 MHz (333 DDR).  This way, the RAM will be synchronized with the FSB, 333 to 333.  The RAM running at 400 MHz only means it has to wait on the FSB to transfer data at a slower rate which can do two things:

1)  Degrade overall system performance

2)  Degrade system stability




Have you read this' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=16788 guide, on how to overclock?
[right][snapback]423817[/snapback][/right]


Sorry AMD808 I thought this was an Nforce2 board. My mistake.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 05/24/2005 04:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

LOL, do you realize you posted the exact same sentence twice? /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

Nah, it's fine, bogey. Just gotta be careful with them Asus model #'s. It's just missing the "N" from the A7_8X. Common mistake, nothing to feel bad about. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/24/2005 04:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

QUOTE(AMD808 @ May 24 2005, 12:21 AM)LOL, do you realize you posted the exact same sentence twice?  /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

Nah, it's fine, bogey.  Just gotta be careful with them Asus model #'s.  It's just missing the "N" from the A7_8X.  Common mistake, nothing to feel bad about.  /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
[right][snapback]423820[/snapback][/right]


Did you realise I've been up all night trying to resuscitate my xp3000? /laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' />

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 05/24/2005 08:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zoran_KS
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/24/2005

I menaged to rise fsb to 181 and now i am at 1900mhz.The cpu cooler is the one that came with the cpu. I have tried the few games and did ok(ex. doom 3).I dont have a case fan shoud i get one?Shoud I change something with memory or is it ok?
 07/23/2005 06:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Korndog
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/23/2005

QUOTE(Zoran_KS @ May 24 2005, 06:45 AM)I menaged to rise fsb to 181 and now i am at 1900mhz.The cpu cooler is the one that came with the cpu. I have tried the few games and did ok(ex. doom 3).I dont have a case fan shoud i get one?Shoud I change something with memory or is it ok?
[right][snapback]423874[/snapback][/right]



just slam it on 200 (fsb), i had trouble @180fsb, BUT, at 200 it becomes stabile again
with about 1.8v running on da inbox&1casefan
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information