AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Which is better ? AthXP2100+ or Semp2400+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/26/2005 08:57 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/26/2005 08:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LongJohn
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 11/26/2005

Hi you Cpu Freaks /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

I have a system running on a Athlon Xp 2100+ (266Mhz DDR Busspeed; 1,74 Ghz), but I also happen to have obtained a Sempron 2400+ (333Mhz DDR Busspeed; 1,67 Ghz).

And now I have a few questions about them;
first of all, which is faster ??

the second one; how should I view the FSB speed differences between them ?
I mean, is the FSB of the Athlon (133) maybe slowing down my system ? because my RAM could go to 166Mhz If i am correct, but my BIOS lets me adjust the FSB for both the same only.

Also I plan on buying a Asus A7V880 board, because my old K7S5A doesnt seem to want much longer, are they REALLY working on those ?

I hope you can help me, because when I read about those things, It usually just gets me more confused. /ohmy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='ohmy.gif' />

Desperately awaiting your professional help,
greetings, LongJohn
 11/27/2005 05:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

166MHz is definitely better than 133, so the sempron would give better performance at stock speed even though it runs at a slower speed(10x166)

If the xp2100 is unlocked, you may be able to run it at 166 at a lower multi. It may even run at 13x166 with a small increase in Vcore. You would have to check the temperature if you want to try that.



-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 11/27/2005 07:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leader
Member

Posts: 80
Joined: 11/26/2005

The Sempron is likely to have a slightly better performance than the AXP 2100+ due to the faster bus.

-------------------------
GB 7VT600L|VIA KT600|AMD Athlon XP 2000+|2x256MB Crucial DDR266 2.5-3-3-6 1T|80 GB Seagate ATA100|ATI 9800 Pro 128MB 256-bit|LG DVD-ROM 16x|Lite-On DVD-RW 16x DL|Samsung 755DFX 17"|Creative Live 5.1|Creative Inspire P5800|Fortron 350W|custom modded case|Windows XP
 11/27/2005 01:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cowen1000
Senior Member

Posts: 857
Joined: 06/15/2004

Which 'core' Sempron is it? If it's a 'barton' then it is basically an athlon XP, if it's not then it will have less L2 cache but has got a faster bus speed!
Try d'loading CBID to see which version of sempron it is!
If you benchmarked both cpu's I don't think that you will find much difference. You can try by d'loading CpuMark99 (google for it) and try comparing the result's between the both cpu's.


-------------------------
http://www.danasoft.com/sig/hankthomas.jpg
 11/27/2005 02:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zir_blazer
Code Warrior

Posts: 2840
Joined: 03/19/2004

QUOTE(cowen1000 @ Nov 27 2005, 03:09 PM)Which 'core' Sempron is it? If it's a 'barton' then it is basically an athlon XP, if it's not then it will have less L2 cache but has got a faster bus speed!
Try d'loading CBID to see which version of sempron it is!
If you benchmarked both cpu's I don't think that you will find much difference. You can try by d'loading CpuMark99 (google for it) and try comparing the result's between the both cpu's.
[right][snapback]554890[/snapback][/right]

So, Semprons that doesn't use the Barton Core (All but the 3000+) aren't basically Athlons XP? Where the Thoroughbred Core camed from then?

Athlon XP 2100+ (Palomino/Thoroughbred (256 KB Cache L2), 1733 MHz, 266 MHz Bus)
Sempron 2400+ (Thoroughbred (256 KB Cache L2), 1666 MHz, 333 MHz Bus)

The extra Bus makes the Sempron slighty faster (Not enough to be worth the change, but if you already got it...) even though the Frecuency is a bit lower. However, you must have 333 MHz Bus capable Memory Modules and Motherboard.
 11/27/2005 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LongJohn
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 11/26/2005

Thanks for the help guys /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

I think I am gonna switch to the Sempron then, when I buy the new Asus A7V880 board.

When I benchmarked my Athlon with Dr. Hardware 6.0 , and compared it to the Sempron, it showed me a kind of confusing picture: the arithmetical tests where in favor of the sempron, the multimedi tests where better for the Athlon.

But you just assured me that the FSB is slowing down my system, when I have Ram that could go faster.

So I will put the sempron on the Asus A7V880 board ! Thanx for the help !

Btw, does anyone know a good RAM - testing tool ?
Because I'd like to know (Like CPUid with CPUs) what kind of RAM EXACTLY I have on my machine !

QUOTE(bogey @ Nov 27 2005, 11:21 AM)If the xp2100 is unlocked, you may be able to run it at 166 at a lower multi. It may even run at 13x166 with a small increase in Vcore. You would have to check the temperature if you want to try that.
[right][snapback]554741[/snapback][/right]


/blink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blink.gif' />
What ?... What dpes "unlocked" mean ?
And how do I change the multiplier ?

Sorry I am kind of a n00b when it turns to overclocking /wacko.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wacko.gif' />
 11/27/2005 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

cpu-z gives details on RAM

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php' ">http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php





-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 11/28/2005 10:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

Unlock means that you can change the multiplier. You can change it in the bios (if it's unlocked /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />


-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 11/28/2005 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cowen1000
Senior Member

Posts: 857
Joined: 06/15/2004

@Zir blazer
Take a look at this' ">http://www.maxgroup.com/Produc...ils.asp?item=AM36SE24R, I think you will find that they make a 'barton core' Sempron 2400! which is the same 'core' used in the faster AthlonXP's

-------------------------
http://www.danasoft.com/sig/hankthomas.jpg
 11/28/2005 08:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zir_blazer
Code Warrior

Posts: 2840
Joined: 03/19/2004

QUOTE(cowen1000 @ Nov 28 2005, 02:53 PM)@Zir blazer
Take a look at this' ">http://www.maxgroup.com/Produc...ils.asp?item=AM36SE24R, I think you will find that they make a 'barton core' Sempron 2400! which is the same 'core' used in the faster AthlonXP's
[right][snapback]555501[/snapback][/right]

Semprons 2200+, 2400+ and 2800+ can come in either Thoroughbred or Thorton versions. Thortons are the name that physically Barton Cores with half of its Cache L2 disabled receives, and they perform exactly the same that a Thoroughbred at the same Frecuency because both got 256 KB Cache L2 (So the description is wrong. Though it is physically a Barton, it is called Thorton). The only Sempron that actually uses a full Barton Core with 512 KB Cache L2 is the 3000+. The Thortons walks away unseen bewthem Thoroughbreds.
 11/29/2005 04:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

QUOTE(zir_blazer @ Nov 29 2005, 02:31 AM)Semprons 2200+, 2400+ and 2800+ can come in either Thoroughbred or Thorton versions. Thortons are the name that physically Barton Cores with half of its Cache L2 disabled receives, and they perform exactly the same that a Thoroughbred at the same Frecuency because both got 256 KB Cache L2 (So the description is wrong. Though it is physically a Barton, it is called Thorton). The only Sempron that actually uses a full Barton Core with 512 KB Cache L2 is the 3000+. The Thortons walks away unseen bewthem Thoroughbreds.
[right][snapback]555820[/snapback][/right]


Why don't you kids stop fighting and check this chart' ">http://www.tomshardware.com/cp.../cpu_table_amd_big.gif out /cool.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='cool.gif' />

All the Semprons are Thoroughbred B cores, and the Thortons cores are only available on Athlon XPs

Anyway, enough with the names... Is there a way to enable the rest of the L2 cache on the Semprons? /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 11/29/2005 04:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

hmm too bad that The Mother of All CPU Charts' ">http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20051121/index.html doesn't include the mobile processors /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' />


-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 11/29/2005 05:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cowen1000
Senior Member

Posts: 857
Joined: 06/15/2004

Nice chart! That should clear up any confusion /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

Anyway I don't know of anyway to enable any more cache on sempron's but at a guess it is probably a bridge that has been cut!

-------------------------
http://www.danasoft.com/sig/hankthomas.jpg
 11/29/2005 05:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

QUOTE(cowen1000 @ Nov 29 2005, 11:27 AM)Nice chart! That should clear up any confusion /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

Anyway I don't know of anyway to enable any more cache on sempron's but at a guess it is probably a bridge that has been cut!


I'll never get the extra effort to limit a component's performance to sell it cheaper !

PS: Not looking for a marketing lecture here...

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 11/29/2005 05:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cowen1000
Senior Member

Posts: 857
Joined: 06/15/2004

@Boule
Take a look at this' ">http://fab51.com/cpu/barton/athlon-e23.html#L2, it explains all the bridges on the cpu and as I suspected the L2 cache is controlled by bridges!

-------------------------
http://www.danasoft.com/sig/hankthomas.jpg
 11/29/2005 06:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

QUOTE(cowen1000 @ Nov 29 2005, 11:44 AM)@Boule
Take a look at this' ">http://fab51.com/cpu/barton/athlon-e23.html#L2, it explains all the bridges on the cpu and as I suspected the L2 cache is controlled by bridges!


On that link, they also talk about a Sempron core Barton... weird !
Anyway, it seems more like the T-Bred architecture is a 256 L2 one, and it's not a bridge configuration that limits the L2 Cache.

However, Thorton and Barton use the same core, and there, it seems that bridge configuration disables have the L2 Cache...



-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 11/29/2005 01:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zir_blazer
Code Warrior

Posts: 2840
Joined: 03/19/2004

QUOTE(boule @ Nov 29 2005, 06:36 AM)Why don't you kids stop fighting and check this chart' ">http://www.tomshardware.com/cp.../cpu_table_amd_big.gif out  /cool.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='cool.gif' />

All the Semprons are Thoroughbred B cores, and the Thortons cores are only available on Athlon XPs

Anyway, enough with the names... Is there a way to enable the rest of the L2 cache on the Semprons?  /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />
[right][snapback]556049[/snapback][/right]

You dare to defy me?' ">http://fab51.com/cpu/sempron/s10-e.html /ohmy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='ohmy.gif' /> Meet my hand maded OPN list...


Architecture Segment
SDA = Desktop Sempron Processor Model 8/10 (Thoroughbred/Barton)
SDC = Desktop Sempron Processor Model 10 (Thorton)
Model Number
Desktop Sempron Model 8 2200+ (1500 MHz, 333 MHz Bus, Thoroughbred)
Desktop Sempron Model 8 2300+ (1583 MHz, 333 MHz Bus, Thoroughbred)
Desktop Sempron Model 8 2400+ (1667 MHz, 333 MHz Bus, Thoroughbred)
Desktop Sempron Model 8 2500+ (1750 MHz, 333 MHz Bus, Thoroughbred)
Desktop Sempron Model 8 2600+ (1833 MHz, 333 MHz Bus, Thoroughbred)
Desktop Sempron Model 8 2800+ (2000 MHz, 333 MHz Bus, Thoroughbred)
Desktop Sempron Model 10 2200+ (1500 MHz, 333 MHz Bus, Thorton)
Desktop Sempron Model 10 2400+ (1667 MHz, 333 MHz Bus, Thorton)
Desktop Sempron Model 10 2800+ (2000 MHz, 333 MHz Bus, Thorton)
Desktop Sempron Model 10 3000+ (2000 MHz, 333 MHz Bus, Barton)
Package Type
D = OPGA
Operating Voltage
U = 1.60V
Die Temperature
T = 90C°
Size of L2 Cache
3 = 256 KB
4 = 512 KB
System Bus Speed
D = 333 MHz Bus (166 MHz FSB)
Revision
Sempron Model 8 (Thoroughbred): B0 = CPUID 6-8-1
Sempron Model 10 (Thorton/Barton): A2 = CPUID 6-A-0


SDA2200DUT3D
Desktop Sempron (Thoroughbred)-??W, 1500 MHz (166 MHz FSB * 9.0x), OPGA, 1.60V, 90C°, 256 KB Cache L2 CPUID = 6-8-1
SDA2300DUT3D
Desktop Sempron (Thoroughbred)-??W, 1583 MHz (166 MHz FSB * 9.5x), OPGA, 1.60V, 90C°, 256 KB Cache L2 CPUID = 6-8-1
SDA2400DUT3D
Desktop Sempron (Thoroughbred)-??W, 1667 MHz (166 MHz FSB * 10.0x), OPGA, 1.60V, 90C°, 256 KB Cache L2 CPUID = 6-8-1
SDA2500DUT3D
Desktop Sempron (Thoroughbred)-??W, 1750 MHz (166 MHz FSB * 10.5x), OPGA, 1.60V, 90C°, 256 KB Cache L2 CPUID = 6-8-1
SDA2600DUT3D
Desktop Sempron (Thoroughbred)-??W, 1833 MHz (166 MHz FSB * 11.0x), OPGA, 1.60V, 90C°, 256 KB Cache L2 CPUID = 6-8-1
SDA2800DUT3D
Desktop Sempron (Thoroughbred)-??W, 2000 MHz (166 MHz FSB * 12.0x), OPGA, 1.60V, 90C°, 256 KB Cache L2 CPUID = 6-8-1
SDC2200DUT3D
Desktop Sempron (Thorton)-??W, 1500 MHz (166 MHz FSB * 9.0x), OPGA, 1.60V, 90C°, 256 KB Cache L2 CPUID = 6-A-0
SDC2400DUT3D
Desktop Sempron (Thorton)-??W, 1667 MHz (166 MHz FSB * 10.0x), OPGA, 1.60V, 90C°, 256 KB Cache L2 CPUID = 6-A-0
SDC2800DUT3D
Desktop Sempron (Thorton)-??W, 2000 MHz (166 MHz FSB * 12.0x), OPGA, 1.60V, 90C°, 256 KB Cache L2 CPUID = 6-A-0
SDA3000DUT4D
Desktop Sempron (Barton)-??W, 2000 MHz (166 MHz FSB * 12.0x), OPGA, 1.60V, 90C°, 512 KB Cache L2 CPUID = 6-A-0
 11/30/2005 05:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

No offense to your hand madeD list, I like my "right-click save picture as" chart better /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 11/30/2005 05:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cowen1000
Senior Member

Posts: 857
Joined: 06/15/2004

I think this thread is going way out now and not answering the original posters question!

-------------------------
http://www.danasoft.com/sig/hankthomas.jpg
 11/30/2005 05:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

QUOTE(cowen1000 @ Nov 30 2005, 11:40 AM)I think this thread is going way out now and not answering the original posters question!


The original poster didn't show up since thread #8~9, where the original and subsequent (<--- WOW /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' /> ) questions were answered !!

So now, just having fun, no harm no foul, right /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />


-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information