AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sempron 2200 only at 1550 (I need overclok help)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/18/2005 02:04 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/03/2005 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

I wonder if you have read any other threads on this forum.

Your first post was 2 weeks ago.

We still don't know what power supply you have.

If you had done some HOMEWORK as MD says, you would know that the quality of the power supply is kinda important, as is the chipset.

You don't seem to have registered this yet.

So shall we start again?

List ALL components f your system IN DETAIL.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 05/06/2005 03:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
007den
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 04/18/2005

Silver black 450w ATX box; Abit VIA KD7A mainboard; 2x256mb DDRam kingmax superram; 80giga maxtor 8mb bufer hard; Ati radeon 9250 256mb 128 bit; cdwriter lg52x32x52x......... the other doesnt mater And my cpu u know...
 05/06/2005 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

The KD7A is the cost and performance motherboard for AMD CPUs. The KD7A uses VIA's newest KT400A chipset to bring the latest in technology to the AMD platform. The KD7A supports AMD Athlon XP, Athlon and Duron 333/266 MHz CPUs , and offers full support for DDR 400. ABIT provides users with 6-channel sound and S/PDIF Out for enhanced audio performance. With full support for AGP 8X, USB 2.0 the KD7A allows users to connect to today's hottest peripherals.
Enhanced 333MHz FSB
The 333MHz FSB increases bandwidth and improves overall system performance.

In order to hit 2ghz, Your going to have to get a 12x multiplier. That board is not capable of 200/400fsb



-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 05/08/2005 08:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
007den
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 04/18/2005

Even with 2.0 bios version taht suports sempron?... cause my board in the begining didn't see my cpu as sempron just as athlon until I flashed the latest bios with sempron cpu suport . So u say that I hawe to change my mainboard or what ... man f**k Anithing I do will awe just 1550 ...
 05/08/2005 09:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

I've got a sempron 2400. It runs at 1.66GHz which is enough for me.

If and when I need more speed I shall buy a faster processor.

You won't get to 2GHz with your sempron2200. But your graphics card is low grade as well.

Start saving the pennies.



-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 05/09/2005 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
007den
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 04/18/2005

Your saing that my grafics card is low grade ... how come?... I dont realy think so what grafics card do u sugest that I should buy than?? Any way f**k Sempron I wil change everithing my mainboard my cpu I will buy athlon 64. But still I hawe to overclock a litle at least because I hawe to sel the cpu and hawe to show the buier some speed...
 05/09/2005 01:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

007den

Please read this:

http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=boardrules' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?act=boardrules

#2

bipassing the content filter isn't cool okay...

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 05/09/2005 04:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

QUOTE (007den @ May 9 2005, 07:19 AM) Your saing that my grafics card is low grade ... how come?... I dont realy think so what grafics card do u sugest that I should buy than?? Any way f**k Sempron I wil change everithing my mainboard my cpu I will buy athlon 64. But still I hawe to overclock a litle at least because I hawe to sel the cpu and hawe to show the buier some speed...
007den,

We are not trying to pick on you here. I just would like to point that out. We are only stating the facts here, so that we can address your questions and concerns.

Stone_age, and I have said previously that your current motherboard will not be up to the task of overclocking to your goal of 1.8 to 2 GHz. That being said, it has also been noted that the graphics card (Radeon 9250) is the lacking feature here - it will play the games you want for the most part, but for lag free gaming, you will want a better mid-range card. The faster CPU will hardly make your gaming any faster, I'll tell you that.

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/15/2005 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moby_buff
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2005

I agree with what everyone has said in this thread, im running a sempron 2200 @ 1.5ghz and i have no problems, gaming is smooth (even when playing online) i have 2 x 256mb of RAM and no problems whatsoever. If i want a faster computer il get a top spech, faster CPU.
 05/15/2005 11:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Moby Duff - what graphics board do you have? It may of interest to 007Den if he's still around.
It's always nice to see other people's full system spec, worts and all! So if you wouldn't mind ....

Cheers

Ps congrats for the first post!

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 05/15/2005 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moby_buff
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2005

im using a nvidia Xpert Vision geforce fx5200 128bit, its only 128mb but runs perfectly fine. Maybe i set my pc to the correct spec in my bios and the settings set on my graphics to the capability it can do. I play Medal of Honour Allied Assault quite alot and online, that game can push your card to the limits.
 05/15/2005 01:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

I've got more or less the same card and 150MHz more cpu speed. I'm not really a gamer but have tried the colin mcrae demo. I mean the graphics are no great shakes but its pretty fluid.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 05/15/2005 01:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moby_buff
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2005

He wants to overclock his processor but thats not necessarily going to solve his problem, he might fry the thing which could mean new processor and new motherboard, costly!!!

I ran on a AMD 900 before i got this and my graphics were still good but was slower.

There is no need to overclock his processor, maybe he should fiddle round with the nvidia settings. Did you get that software with your card?
 05/15/2005 01:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

I've got more or less the same card and 150MHz more cpu speed. I'm not really a gamer but have tried the colin mcrae demo. I mean the graphics are no great shakes but its pretty fluid.

What resolution are you at, and what's your operating system?

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 05/15/2005 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moby_buff
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2005

im set to 1280x768 which basically is widescreen mode just looks better and running XP service pack 2
 05/15/2005 01:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Sorry I wanted to edit and ended up posting twice!

I've got windows xp pro and didn't need to load a driver - it was recognized.

Now you mention it , I haven't looked at what else was on the cd. Something else I can mess around with.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 05/15/2005 01:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moby_buff
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2005

install the driver cd. Have you installed directx 9.0? im using directx 9.0c. Whe you install the driver disk you should get an nvidia plug in and it runs in the taskbar you can fiddle around with settings more than you can in just the normal xp display settings.
 05/15/2005 04:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Yes got directx9. The driver on the cd was older than the one already in xpSP2 so I didn't change it. I think windows updates directx, doesn't it?

One thing moby duff- do you have a spare memory slot? I found a real improvement in performance increasing my RAM to 1024MB. Memory's pretty cheap now.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 05/16/2005 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moby_buff
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2005

i have 2x256meg havent got a spare memory slot . may upgrade to a 1gig card and have a 256 as well, 1gig are around £50, no spare cash at the mo but will have it soon. With that driver cd you got there should be a nvidia driver or plugin in this is quite good because as i said before you can fiddle with the settings more.
 05/16/2005 04:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

QUOTE(moby_buff @ May 16 2005, 11:48 AM)i have 2x256meg havent got a spare memory slot . may upgrade to a 1gig card and have a 256 as well, 1gig are around £50, no spare cash at the mo but will have it soon. With that driver cd you got there should be a nvidia driver or plugin in this is quite good because as i said before you can fiddle with the settings more.
[right][snapback]418487[/snapback][/right]


What's your motherboard moby duff? and what speed memory is your 2x256?

With my graphics there some V-tune software from gigabyte which does the same sort of thing.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information