AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Wrong Sempron-Driver installed
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/01/2005 01:55 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/01/2005 01:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alarik
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/01/2005

I didn't know that there are Semprons for different mainboard types.
I have got a Socket-A Mainboard and I installed the driver for Socket-754.
PC rebooted and it didn't work any more. No BIOS messages.
Nothing to see, but it makes noises in 2-3 second intervals.

MSI KT4A-V (Socket-A,VIA-Chipset)
AMD Athlon Sempron 2400+


What can I do such as CMOS-Reset or something?
The pc is only 2 months old.

Thanks for help
 06/01/2005 05:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

QUOTE(Alarik @ May 31 2005, 09:55 PM)I didn't know that there are Semprons for different mainboard types.
I have got a Socket-A Mainboard and I installed the driver for Socket-754.
PC rebooted and it didn't work any more. No BIOS messages.
Nothing to see, but it makes noises in 2-3 second intervals.

MSI KT4A-V (Socket-A,VIA-Chipset)
AMD Athlon Sempron 2400+


What can I do such as CMOS-Reset or something?
The pc is only 2 months old.

Thanks for help
[right][snapback]429016[/snapback][/right]


Try clearing the CMOS. The motherboard manual will explain how to do this.

Don't forget to isolate the pc from the mains supply first.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 06/01/2005 09:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Quentin
Senior Member

Posts: 1116
Joined: 01/25/2005

Are you saying you flashed the BIOS with a BIOS for a Socket 754 motherboard? Or are you saying you installed some Windows driver?

If the BIOS was flashed with an incompatible one, it will be difficult to repair the problem. Let us know more about what actually happened.

-------------------------
K8N Neo2, Opteron 180, 2GB G.SKILL PC3200, 9600XT, Cooler Master CM 690/RP-600-PCAR
GA-K8NS Ultra-939, Opteron 175, 1GB PNY Verto PC3500, 9600XT, CM Centurion 5/RS-450-ACLY
A7N8X-E Deluxe, XP-M 2600+ @218x11, 1GB KVR PC3200, 9550, Lian Li midtower/RS-450-ACLY
AN7, XP-M 2800+ @218x11, 1GB HyperX, AIW 9600XT, Antec Super LB/TPII Blue 480
http://classicplatforms.com Keeping "Old Tech" new.
 06/02/2005 01:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Alarik
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/01/2005

QUOTE(Quentin @ Jun 1 2005, 05:28 PM)Are you saying you flashed the BIOS with a BIOS for a Socket 754 motherboard? Or are you saying you installed some Windows driver?
[right][snapback]429468[/snapback][/right]


Only the windows driver installed (downloaded here at www.amd.com)
I didn't start a CMOS Reset, because I don't know why, but next day after the problem comes up, the pc is running again.

It seems to be no problem to install the cpu driver for wrong mainboard (or I had luck...)

Thanks for help /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
 06/04/2005 11:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Quentin
Senior Member

Posts: 1116
Joined: 01/25/2005

Are you talking about the replacing the Windows processr.sys driver with amdk7.sys?

I've read lots of discussion about which one should be installed for AMD CPUs (especially mobiles) but I don't think it's been proven which one is better for desktop CPUs. Almost everyone including myself leaves it at the default processr.sys driver but either should work fine. The exception is AMD mobiles in laptops must have amdk7.sys for PowerNow to work properly.

-------------------------
K8N Neo2, Opteron 180, 2GB G.SKILL PC3200, 9600XT, Cooler Master CM 690/RP-600-PCAR
GA-K8NS Ultra-939, Opteron 175, 1GB PNY Verto PC3500, 9600XT, CM Centurion 5/RS-450-ACLY
A7N8X-E Deluxe, XP-M 2600+ @218x11, 1GB KVR PC3200, 9550, Lian Li midtower/RS-450-ACLY
AN7, XP-M 2800+ @218x11, 1GB HyperX, AIW 9600XT, Antec Super LB/TPII Blue 480
http://classicplatforms.com Keeping "Old Tech" new.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information