AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sempron 2200
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/12/2005 07:11 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/12/2005 07:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Oldmug42
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/12/2005

I just took on a project that I am now regreting. Decided to build a new computer for my son's Birthday, from scratch:

Processor: Amd Sempron 2200
MotherboardC Chips M863G Socket 462 uATX, SIS 741GX (sepron supported)
Memory:512Mb
Video Card: GForce Fx5200 (128 Mb)



I am frustrated. I thought I followed every instruction to the "T" and my system is showing the processor speed at only 900Mhz. I have looked at some of the forums and I am a little confused on what I need to do.

Is there something I need to change in the BIOS to change the processor speed to the manufactures suggested 1.5 Ghz?

My son just purchased a new game that reguires 64Mb video memory and minimum 1.2Ghz processor.

Thanks
 03/12/2005 07:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

Refer to your motherboard manual for possible jumper configuration - I was not able to get a hold of your manual because the PCChips website for that particular page is down.

The Front Side Bus speed in the bios must be set to 166 MHz. Front Side Bus may also be known as External Frequency, CPU External Frequency, or something similar.

If jumpers need to be configured, then the speed setting will either be 166 MHz, or 333 MHz.

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 03/12/2005 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Oldmug42
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/12/2005

I figured it out........ Thanks for the help AMD808. I changed the Bios to 166 and now it recognizes it at 1.5 Ghz and aslo as a Sempron not an Atholon..............weird stuff
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information