AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: windows xp pro dosent install
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/09/2005 06:25 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/09/2005 06:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Joshrulez
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/09/2005

im am using a asrock k7s414x,256 333mhz ram amd 2400+ and i used a boot disk to start the windows xp pro installation but after it copys the files and restarts it dosent go back to the xp installation it just restarts again

can u help please
 12/11/2005 04:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nature
Member

Posts: 44
Joined: 05/25/2005

It restarts the whole installation process, right?
Which kind of boot disk did you used?


-------------------------
[u
 12/12/2005 09:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

You do NOT need a boot disk for windows XP. Just load the CD and off you go.

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 12/12/2005 10:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

Here's what you do...
You boot from the cd and go through with the installation. After it completes the "copy files" step and reboots, u'll have to boot from the Hard Disk, not the CD-Rom drive.
To do that, either go in your bios and set the hard disk as the first boot device, or simply eject the disc, wait the XP splash logo and then reinsert it to complete the setup...


-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 12/12/2005 10:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

QUOTE(boule @ Dec 12 2005, 11:33 AM)Here's what you do...
You boot from the cd and go through with the installation. After it completes the "copy files" step and reboots, u'll have to boot from the Hard Disk, not the CD-Rom drive.
To do that, either go in your bios and set the hard disk as the first boot device, or simply eject the disc, wait the XP splash logo and then reinsert it to complete the setup...
[right][snapback]565692[/snapback][/right]

exactly, I was just to lazy to type all that /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 12/12/2005 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

QUOTE(r3sil3 @ Dec 12 2005, 04:39 PM)exactly, I was just to lazy to type all that /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

lool u're getting really lazy these days ! /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />


-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 12/12/2005 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

Im at work, on a monday morning, and im done with my day's work....I'll be leaving shortly, thank goodness.

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 12/12/2005 10:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

QUOTE(r3sil3 @ Dec 12 2005, 04:48 PM)Im at work, on a monday morning, and im done with my day's work....I'll be leaving shortly, thank goodness.

Yeah, I'll be leaving shortly too... but I'm in a 5 hours ahead timezone /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' />


-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information