AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Old KT7A board and Sempron 2400+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/17/2005 07:04 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/17/2005 07:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zarq
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/17/2005

Today, my old Athlon 1200 was fried by the power supply. I have a deadline to meet... no panic yet, but close...

I installed a new power supply and when a friend (who deals with PC hardware) told me that the old board would take a Sempron 2400+, I bought one.

The board is a Abit KT7A, with 512 MB SDRAM. It does not recognize Semprons, of course. I tried several bus speed/freq combinations and it runs w/ 1200 Mhz/100 FSB now. Still, it hung a few times during boot (W2K) although a full check of all drives turned out no damage. I just booted in safe mode, rebooted and now everything seems fine. The BIOS says "unknown CPU" but so far, it seems stable.

I didn't care about hardware developments during the past few years and I'm slightly lost when it comes to current CPUs, RAM specs etc.

The board offers 100-133 Mhz FSB speeds and various CPU multipliers, up to x12.5.

Voltage is 1.60V.

OK, is there a chance to get my Sempron to run at full speed, or at least stable at reduced speed? Or am I just asking for another crash?
 02/18/2005 01:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Halkatla
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/14/2005

You should upgrade your BIOS from your mobo manufacturer, then perhaps it will recognize your cpu. And it will maybe give you some more fsb to choose from to be able to get it to work at the right speed.
 02/18/2005 06:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zarq
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/17/2005

The board is very old, the last BIOS patch came out in 7/2002...
 02/18/2005 07:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD808
Moderator

Posts: 3771
Joined: 10/09/2004

Your motherboard will not support the Sempron.

It uses a 333 MHz FSB, while your board supports up to 266.

So in short, it will run, but not at full speed.

-------------------------
MODERATOR

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information