AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: interchangeability
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/16/2005 09:17 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/16/2005 09:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charlesf1
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/16/2005

I have an ABIT KX7-333 motherboard and my question is this. Can I upgrade to a Sempron chip? The information I have on the board is that I can use Athlon, AthlonXP, or duron. My son has a Sempron on a newer board and agrees the it IS faster than his AthlonXP setup. I really don't want to buy the Sempron chip then have to buy a new board to put it on if it did not work on the Abit KX7.

Any ideas on this?
Thanks,
 01/16/2005 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Welcome to the forum:

The literature here would suggest that they never tested the Sempron on the mainboard, since it is now in their Archive section.

http://www2.abit.com.tw/page/e...boar...fMTYPE=Socket+A' ">http://www2.abit.com.tw/page/e...X7-333&fMTYPE=Socket+A

http://www2.abit.com.tw/page/e...boar...&pPRODINFO=BIOS' ">http://www2.abit.com.tw/page/e...ket%20A&pPRODINFO=BIOS

The chipset aparently can run at 200/266/333, The Semprons use the 333 bus.

Support may be 50/50 of a Sempron even though the board can run at 333 and use PC2700 (DDR333) Ram...

What CPU is currently on your motherboard?

The board can handle a XP2400+...

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 01/16/2005 06:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
charlesf1
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/16/2005

Currently running an Athlon 1200 with 256MB DDR and two 60GB Maxtor hard Drives. I have plans to bump the memory to at least 512 at tax time. I guess that I could try the sempron and if it doesn't work get a new board. Just hate to waste this board. I may just go with an Athlon-XP.

Thanks for the input.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information