AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Computer doesnt boot
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/05/2006 04:23 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/05/2006 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DarkAngel016x
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/05/2006

i bought a new case, hard drive and motherboard. i bought the case and mother board to move my pc parts from one machine to another. i got the hard drive to run raid 0. here are the specs:

APEVIA (ASPIRE) X-QPACK (new)
eVGA 131-K8-NF44-AX Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard (new)
Sempron 3500+
512 mb ram (2 x 256mb)
160GB Wester Digital HardDrive
200GB Maxtor HardDrive (new drive)
eVGA 6600 PCI-e 256mb

i put the computer together but im having some major problems, heres a list of problems:

1.) the power supply wont start up on 115 volts but it will startup on 230 volts.
2.) the motherboard powers up, the cpu doesnt boot, but everything runs, fans spin, cant tell if the hard drives are running. strangely enough my mp3 player will charge on the motherboards USB port
 11/05/2006 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

Have you tryed to set it up out of the case to see if it was shorting out on the case.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 11/05/2006 04:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DarkAngel016x
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/05/2006

yep i attempted that last night.
 11/06/2006 05:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marsey99
Member

Posts: 133
Joined: 08/06/2006

it could be the switch is in wrong on the psu or it could be on its last legs.

try it with only one stick of ram and one hd,no dvd drive no gcard or usb devices, if it boots you need a new psu, i would guess you will need min 350w but you dont want to try to save any cash with your psu as when the giveup they normaly take somthing with them.

if it boots with no gcard,leave it for a couple of min then, alt+f4 then right cursor once, enter, and that will shut down.

-------------------------
semp 3400+ @2.52ghz, akasa evo33 with silver paste, asrock k8nf4g, 2 x 512mb ddr420(2.5-3-3-7), 7600gt core 625mhz mem 840mhz, X-fi extreme gamer, nec ad-5170a + lg gdr8164b, 2 x samsung spinpoint 250gb, 600w psu, phong 2 case, cpu temp(idle - burn) 26c - 32c(fans full speed)31c - 38c(low fan speed) superpi 1m - 38.344 sec(AF4OB221). cpuz 3Dmark03 13104
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information