AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sempron 2500+ seen as Athlon MP
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/26/2006 12:00 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/26/2006 12:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Transmuter
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/26/2006

I just put together a computer with a Sempron 2500+ CPU on a PC Chips M848A K7-based motherboard. After installing Windows XP Pro I noticed that the CPU speed was reporting at 1.1 GHz, which isn't right for this CPU. I ran the AMD CPUInfo utility and discovered that the system thinks it's running on a Athlon MP!

Does anyone have any idea why this might be happening?
 11/26/2006 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown After installing Windows XP Pro I noticed that the CPU speed was reporting at 1.1 GHz

ur running at fsb 100mhz.. set ur fsb to 166mhz..

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown I ran the AMD CPUInfo utility and discovered that the system thinks it's running on a Athlon MP!

the skt A sempron and athlon MP has the same bridges cut (L5 if i remember right).. anyway, a bios update should solve that..

-------------------------
 11/26/2006 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Set the bus speed to 166MHz (currently 100). Actually there's a bug with that board which requires a you set the bus speed slightly higher - say 170MHz.

The board recognizes the sempron as an MP because the bridges on the sempron are similar to an MP. Once it's running at 170MHz it should be recognized as a sempron or at least a thoroughbred xp.

Stock speed 10.5x166~1750MHz.

That board also supports the L5 mobile mod (filling the third L5 bridge will turn the sempron into a "mobile" with multipliers unlocked up to x11).
Changing multiplier "on the fly" in windows is also possible after the mod with the necessary software.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information