AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sempron 3000+ Stuck at post
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/10/2006 07:34 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/10/2006 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathfs2
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/10/2006

I recently upgraded to a new computer and I moved internals out and in and my old ones into a diff tower. now when i start up my old one with a different HD and more ram i cant get past the post screen cuase it gives me a message saying,

"The system was not correctly shut down and now working in safe mode speed, please press "del" to bios setup table to set correct CPU speed."


I can manage to startup the system by reseting the CMOS and starting up. this way it gives me a message saying the default settings where set in the bios and it lets me continue with startup by pressing F1. Whenever i have to restart the computer though I have to reset teh CMOS again.

I really have no idea why this is happening. i cant reach my normal CPU speed no mater what setting i try and it just stays at 1200mhz and gives me that message.

I have tried remounting the heat sink on the processor and reapplying the thermal paste, ive tried running without IDE to see how far i can get, single ram sticks, no ram, no PCI devices hooked up, and even switching the FSB from default to the 200mhz setting and still nothing..

only once by unhooking the IDEs i was able to get the computer to pass post but only at 1200mhz and be able to restart as long as i didnt try to change the bios settings.

While looking at my Mobo manual i have noticed that i seem to be missing the "Boot virus detection" option in my bios which is shown in the manual. I dont supose i have some sort of BIOS virus or something?

SPECS:
a7n8x-x mobo
AMD 3000+ Sempron (Shows up as athlon in system devices)
2.5ghz ram running at 200mhz
BFG geforce 6800ultra oc
2 HDs 2CDs 1floppy
C-media 5.1 sound card
some nic card.
 12/11/2006 01:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

Correct speed is 12x166~2.0GHz.

The memory should run at the same speed (1:1 or 100%) as well.



-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information