AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD upgrade to A64 3400 (socket 754)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/03/2006 05:50 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/03/2006 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zxue
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/01/2006

Hi guys,

anyone successfully run a A64 3400 (socket 754) L1 cache 128kb / L2 cache 1MB into ASUS K8N?

BIOS version - v 1.011 (original)
2 stick of VS512MB400 Corsair DDR.

Any stuff do i need to take note?
currently running Sempron 2800.

not overclocking. thks
 05/03/2006 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdG
Senior Member

Posts: 1592
Joined: 10/07/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: zxue
anyone successfully run a A64 3400 (socket 754) L1 cache 128kb / L2 cache 1MB into ASUS K8N?


GO HERE and enter your mobo model in the search box, then click the link for your board, a list with all supportted CPUs for your board will pop up.
 05/04/2006 01:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zxue
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/01/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: EdG
GO HERE and enter your mobo model in the search box, then click the link for your board, a list with all supportted CPUs for your board will pop up.



thanks edge, but it doesnt specify the stepping nor the L2 cache..

Athlon 64 2800+ (Socket754) ALL ALL
Athlon 64 3000+ (Socket754, revE6) ALL 1008
Athlon 64 3000+ (Socket754) ALL ALL
Athlon 64 3200+ (Socket754) ALL ALL
Athlon 64 3200+ (Socket754, revE6) 1.01 1011
Athlon 64 3400+ (Socket754) ALL ALL
Athlon 64 3700+ (Socket754) ALL ALL

http://www.amdcompare.com/us-en/desktop/Default.aspx
ADA3700AEP5AR ADA3700BOX AMD Athlon™ 64 3700+ 2400Mhz Socket 754 89W
ADA3400AEP5AP ADA3400BOX AMD Athlon™ 64 3400+ 2200Mhz Socket 754 89W
ADA3400AEP5AR ADA3400BOX AMD Athlon™ 64 3400+ 2200Mhz Socket 754 89W
ADA3400AEP4AR n/a AMD Athlon™ 64 3400+ 2400Mhz Socket 754 89W
ADA3400AEP4AX ADA3400AXBOX AMD Athlon™ 64 3400+ 2400Mhz Socket 754 89W
ADA3400AIK4BO n/a AMD Athlon™ 64 3400+ 2400Mhz Socket 754 67W
SDA3400AIO3BX SDA3400BXBOX AMD Athlon™ 64 3400+ 2000Mhz Socket 754 62W


look like there is only 3 version of L2 1MB cache..
i m looking at the first 3 versions. 2 with 2.2ghz, and 1 with 2.4ghz

 05/04/2006 02:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: zxue
Hi guys,

anyone successfully run a A64 3400 (socket 754) L1 cache 128kb / L2 cache 1MB into ASUS K8N?

BIOS version - v 1.011 (original)
2 stick of VS512MB400 Corsair DDR.

Any stuff do i need to take note?
currently running Sempron 2800.

not overclocking. thks



This should be an Athlon64 3400+ with 2200 Mhz and L2 cache of 1 MB aka Clawhammer which is the oldest for socket 754. All in BIOS view means that your CPU will be supported as it belong to the first generation for this MB.


-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
 05/05/2006 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zxue
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/01/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: blizard
This should be an Athlon64 3400+ with 2200 Mhz and L2 cache of 1 MB aka Clawhammer which is the oldest for socket 754. All in BIOS view means that your CPU will be supported as it belong to the first generation for this MB.



thanks for the info blizard.
you not from blizzard rite?
 05/05/2006 03:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: zxue
thanks for the info blizard.
you not from blizzard rite?



You are welcome Zxue.

Nope I am not connected to any company with that name or any other association.

-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
 05/05/2006 04:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zxue
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/01/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: blizard
You are welcome Zxue.

Nope I am not connected to any company with that name or any other association.




lol..


btw what the diff between newcaslte n clawhammer???


m considering getting a A64 or o/c my current sempron2800..

L2 cache make a big difference.......
 05/05/2006 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

A 3700 you be the best bet, an older clawhammer lacks SSE3 and ran hotter.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 05/06/2006 04:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zxue
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/01/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: athlonxp2800+/333
A 3700 you be the best bet, an older clawhammer lacks SSE3 and ran hotter.




lol.. how i wish..... if only they are selling over here.... the highest i have seen is a 3200

quote:

Originally posted by: zxue
lol.. how i wish..... if only they are selling over here.... the highest i have seen is a 3200




think i will o/c the current sempron i have..

let see if they are coming out over here..
 03/06/2007 03:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
racer270
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/06/2007

quote:

Originally posted by: zxue
thanks edge, but it doesnt specify the stepping nor the L2 cache..

Athlon 64 2800+ (Socket754) ALL ALL
Athlon 64 3000+ (Socket754, revE6) ALL 1008
Athlon 64 3000+ (Socket754) ALL ALL
Athlon 64 3200+ (Socket754) ALL ALL
Athlon 64 3200+ (Socket754, revE6) 1.01 1011
Athlon 64 3400+ (Socket754) ALL ALL
Athlon 64 3700+ (Socket754) ALL ALL

http://www.amdcompare.com/us-en/desktop/Default.aspx
ADA3700AEP5AR ADA3700BOX AMD Athlon™ 64 3700+ 2400Mhz Socket 754 89W
ADA3400AEP5AP ADA3400BOX AMD Athlon™ 64 3400+ 2200Mhz Socket 754 89W
ADA3400AEP5AR ADA3400BOX AMD Athlon™ 64 3400+ 2200Mhz Socket 754 89W
ADA3400AEP4AR n/a AMD Athlon™ 64 3400+ 2400Mhz Socket 754 89W
ADA3400AEP4AX ADA3400AXBOX AMD Athlon™ 64 3400+ 2400Mhz Socket 754 89W
ADA3400AIK4BO n/a AMD Athlon™ 64 3400+ 2400Mhz Socket 754 67W
SDA3400AIO3BX SDA3400BXBOX AMD Athlon™ 64 3400+ 2000Mhz Socket 754 62W
look like there is only 3 version of L2 1MB cache..
i m looking at the first 3 versions. 2 with 2.2ghz, and 1 with 2.4ghz



..........................................................................................................................................................

hi new here,
.....i know of one more of the AMD ATHLON 64'S that have........ a L2 1MB because i have ONE....
IT IS A "CLAWHAMER" with L1I 64 , L1d 64 AND L2 1024
ADA3400AEP5AO ........?
AAAIC 0328RPMW

it's aaaa,... 754 PIN
3400+ that once installed will read " 3200+" but runs ...@ 2000mhz


can anyone tell me about this cpu.........i cant find much about it.....???

LIKE .....when , how,why.... and what it came out of......???

i got it second hand ....ebay

thanks
 03/07/2007 05:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zxue
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/01/2006

sad that i cant seem to find anymore socket 754 A64 cpu... over here i mean.

there goes my upgrate..
 07/08/2007 02:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HELLSPAWN76
B1FF

Posts: 121
Joined: 05/10/2007

have you checked tiger direct or neweeg?

-------------------------
MY PC AMD Athlon X4 4800+ 2.9Ghz Toledo /Zalman CNPS9500/Asus A8N-SLI SE Socket 939/ 2X1 GB DDR 4000 OCZ Platinum/Hitachi HD 80GB , Maxtor 160 GB HD/ 2 x Optiarc DVD RW/EVGA Nvidia 7950GX2 /Win XP/22in ViewSonicvx2235wm/

AMD X4 630 3.5GHZ/ 2 X 2GB DDR2 800+ ADATA VITESTA / WD HD 160GB/ 1 X DVD BURNER/ 2 XFX ATI 4770 512MB OC 900/1000 / MSI K9A2 CF 790X/OCZ 700W PSU
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information