AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sempron 3000+ Socket A - Not sure its setup right
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/09/2006 11:34 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/09/2006 11:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scifiman2078
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/09/2006

Ok, I just bought this AMD Sempron 3000+ (Socket A (Barton)) 2.0 GHz that runs 333 MHz FSB, L1 = 64+64MHz, L2 512 MHz.

I installed it in a Gigabyte GA-7VAXP Ultra motherboard that is rated to run as high as 333 FSB. I also have 512 megs of PC3200, 400 MHz Corsair XMS series RAM. It's the one with the bank of flashing lights.

(Yes I updated the BIOS first from Gigabyte so my board would support the Sempron)

Anyway, I ran Everest Home Edition to check my specs. This is what I found:

Field Value
Motherboard Properties
Motherboard Name Gigabyte GA-7VAXP Ultra

Front Side Bus Properties
Bus Type DEC Alpha EV6
Bus Width 64-bit

Real Clock 167 MHz (DDR) (Why is there a differance between real clock and effective?)
Effective Clock 333 MHz (shouldn't my FSB be running at 333 real or effective?)
Bandwidth 2667 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties
Bus Type DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 167 MHz (DDR) (Here it is again with the memory)
Effective Clock 333 MHz (I don't understand why there is a differance here)
Bandwidth 2667 MB/s

Chipset Bus Properties
Bus Type VIA V-Link
Bus Width 8-bit
Real Clock 67 MHz (ODR)
Effective Clock 533 MHz
Bandwidth 533 MB/s

Motherboard Physical Info
CPU Sockets/Slots 1
Expansion Slots 5 PCI, 1 AGP
RAM Slots 3 DIMM
Integrated Devices Audio, LAN, IEEE-1394
Form Factor ATX
Motherboard Size 230 mm x 300 mm
Motherboard Chipset KT400
Extra Features DualBIOS, EasyTune 4, Ultra-ATA/133, Serial-ATA/150, RAID

Motherboard Manufacturer
Company Name Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Product Information http://tw.giga-byte.com/Mother...oduc...roduct_List.htm
BIOS Download http://tw.giga-byte.com/Mother...ppor...S/BIOS_List.htm

Any help or guidance you can provide is greatly appreciated.
 02/10/2006 02:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

It looks ok. Effective clock - 333MHz happens when you use DDR (Double Data Rate) memory.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 02/10/2006 06:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

i see no problem here..
as bogey said, the clock is 167mhz but as u are using DDR it is rated to be 333mhz..
ie 167*2=333 (ignore the .5 difference)

-------------------------
 02/10/2006 06:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scifiman2078
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/09/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: nagaty_h
i see no problem here..
as bogey said, the clock is 167mhz but as u are using DDR it is rated to be 333mhz..
ie 167*2=333 (ignore the .5 difference)




Thanks. I should have realized, but just got a little overzealous. Thanks again. Oh, I found a cool site that explains what you also said. http://www.cpu-world.com/index.html.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information