Increase font size
Topic Title: my SEMPRON 2800 thinks its a Athlon XP 2400
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/28/2006 01:30 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/28/2006 01:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pacman-20

Hi everyone, I'm new to all of this and am learning everyday. I cannot figure out why my computer is saying that my processor is an Ahtlon XP. The speed of both processors is the same, but I don't want to burn up my sempron somehow. I just wanted to make sure that nothing will happen or if there would be any benefit if I could get my system to notice the cpu as a sempron. Also on the Acorp website there is a BIOS update for my motherboard, but when I try to update, the program says that the update is not for my Mother Board.

Here's the site for my MOBO update incase that helps, http://www.acorp.com.tw/eng/do...ownl...eid=43&lineid=1

My CPU temperatures are constantly above 50 degrees C, which seems high to me. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Wade
 03/28/2006 04:48 AM

Author Icon
cowen1000

Yor temps are high! Check your HSF, make sure it's not clogged up with dust.

You will need to do a BIOS update for it to recognise your cpu as a Sempron, it won't make a difference in perfomance or won't have any bad effects on your system if you leave it like it is.

-------------------------
http://www.danasoft.com/sig/hankthomas.jpg
 03/29/2006 12:35 AM

Author Icon
bvchurch

quote:

Originally posted by: pacman-20