AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Can't get warranty services on my Sempron?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/24/2006 04:09 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/24/2006 04:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nadams
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 01/05/2006

I purchased a Sempron 3100+ from Newegg.com on 1/23/2006. It has since stopped working (verified by testing all components separately... it's definately the proc). But when I try to register it on AMD website, to be able to RMA it, it says the serial number doesn't exist in the database. I double checked that I entered it correctly, but it just won't take it. Also, when I tried to enter the purchase date, it just turned red and wouldn't let me continue on to the serial number spot. But as soon as I deleted the date from the form, it let me go on.

What's going on?
 02/24/2006 04:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

did u buy it as retail package or oem?

-------------------------
 02/24/2006 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nadams
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 01/05/2006

Retail Box.
 02/24/2006 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Considering you bought it from Newegg, I'm going to assume you are in the US. Given that, see here. The phone number for warranty service is on that page, and it is generally recommended that you use that for RMAs.

-Adam
 03/13/2006 09:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nadams
Member

Posts: 25
Joined: 01/05/2006

Finally got around to calling them. The guy I talked to registered my CPU, but now I have to log into the warranty services website and finish the RMA from there. Unfortunately, I don't know what my password is for that website! Why I try to use the "Forgot your password..." link, it just takes me to a blank page. I'm not overly impressed with AMD's support site!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information