AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: No boot/post
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/13/2006 08:49 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/13/2006 08:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pdizzle
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/13/2006

Just purchased an ECS 755 a2 motherboard with an Sempron 3400+ *64-BIT* (754 / 2.0GHz / 384K / 1600FSB) proc and we installed the motherboard with proc and memory and new ATI video card and it will not post or boot no beeps and header pins will not allow the buttons on front to work correctly except to turn the power on.

HELP!!!!!
/biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

Edit: Just wanted to make sure I said there is NO display and I am using a 250W power supply.
 01/13/2006 10:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdgE 45
Senior Member

Posts: 729
Joined: 09/03/2005

Well first of all I would say your power supply should be 350 watts or more.And sounds like maybe something didnt get plug in some where ,You should get something ,try this ,may work ,It happened to me ,unplug the power supply cord from back of computer and plug back in,only saying this cause one of the computers i built wouldn't start ,nothing ,I unplug cord and for some strange reason it booted /ph34r.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='ph34r.gif' /> does the ati need power?


-------------------------
Amd 4400x2
asus a8n-sli premium
pc power 510
corsair twinx2048-3500LLpro
70gb wd 10,000x2
evga 7800gtx X-Fi Platinum
 01/13/2006 11:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
yetieater
Member

Posts: 174
Joined: 06/08/2005

Check here for PSU wattage requirement:

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp' ">http://www.extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp

Definitely too low for that type of setup. What video card are you using?

-------------------------
OCEANBLUe | AMD64 3800+ Venice | 1GB Corsair XMS | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
Seagate SATA Barracuda 200GB | Lite-On DVD±RW | Sapphire ATi Radeon X800XL Ultimate Edition
Logitech MX500 Optical Mouse | Samsung SyncMaster 910MP
DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D 6-23 OFFICIAL BIOS | ThermalTake Silent PurePower 480W PSU
3DMark2001SE: 26713 | 3DMark2003: 11921 | 3DMark2005: 5490

blog.
 01/14/2006 04:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

Well first can you provide some more information about the power supply you have? Model number/maker etc. ONe thing that is really important is +12V line and how many amps it has on it. This power supply sounds weak just by the description. I run Athlon 64s just fine on 350watt Antec Smartpowers, but I have never run an Athlon 64 series based proc on something less than that.

Lets say if your power supply is good enough, usually if you get no beeps it may be do to a dead motherboard. If you remove all the ram do you hear any beeps?
 01/14/2006 10:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cowen1000
Senior Member

Posts: 857
Joined: 06/15/2004

Make sure that your cmos clear jumper is in the correct position as some mobo's come shipped with it in the clear position.
Try resetting your cmos

good Luck

-------------------------
http://www.danasoft.com/sig/hankthomas.jpg
 01/18/2006 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Acobar
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/04/2005

Also make sure that the little pins in your 4-pin power connectors are all still in their slots.

I had the same problem yesterday with it just booting to a blackscreen; no beeps; no text. It turned out that one of the connector pins got pushed out (through?) because the little plastic bit surrounding it wasn't tight enough or something. I just pushed it back up in there till it felt secure and it booted to POST just fine.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information