AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Sempron 3200+ speed issue
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/06/2008 07:04 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/06/2008 07:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
specs
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/29/2008

I have a socket AM2 Sempron 3200+ processor that is supposed to run at 1800 MHz but my windows xp professional x64 edition is picking it up at 510 MHz. When I run the 32bit dxdiag, it picks up the processor at 1800 MHz but when I run the 64bit dxdiag it picks up at 510MHz. Any program that requires more than 510MHz won't run properly.

I am not a tech savy person, could someone please help me.
 03/06/2008 07:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sgie87
Case Modder

Posts: 1141
Joined: 08/01/2004

this program is called cpuz,it will accurately tell you what speed your cpu is running at,
what does it say?

http://www.majorgeeks.com/CPU-Z_d425.html

-------------------------
*IRC chatroom #freedom on irc.globalgamers.net server is a great place to hang out online.PM me for more info.*
 03/07/2008 12:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
specs
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/29/2008

It says that the cpu is running at 518 MHz
 03/07/2008 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sgie87
Case Modder

Posts: 1141
Joined: 08/01/2004

OK,try keeping cpuz open and doing something that takes allot of cpu power ,like encoding a dvd or music, see if the speed changes,anything that will cause the cpu usage shown in task manager to stay up at 100% for more than 20 seconds.now watch cpuz and see if the speed increases.
there might be a power saving option in the bios that is forcing the chip to a slower speed when the extra power is not required.

-------------------------
*IRC chatroom #freedom on irc.globalgamers.net server is a great place to hang out online.PM me for more info.*
 03/07/2008 11:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
specs
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/29/2008

I managed to get the cpu up to 100% but I couldn't get a reading to go above 518 MHz. Cpuz says that the bus speed for my processor is 57.5 MHz, the core voltage is 1.264 V, multiplier is x 9.0, and the HT link is 230.2 MHz could these stats have anything to do with my problem? The motherboard is an abit NF-M2S.
 03/08/2008 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sgie87
Case Modder

Posts: 1141
Joined: 08/01/2004

its sounds alot like a power saving feature gone wrong,

when the computer boots up,as soon as u see the black screen tap the key that will bring you into the bios setup a few time(normally esc or delete).
look under power management features or something similar and see if there is an option called AMD® Cool 'n' Quiet Technology or something like it and make sure its disabled.

also,what does cpuz say about your ram? (3rd and 4th tab of cpuz)

-------------------------
*IRC chatroom #freedom on irc.globalgamers.net server is a great place to hang out online.PM me for more info.*
 03/14/2008 11:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
specs
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/29/2008

Sorry for the late response sgie87, I have been really busy over the past week. I disabled the AMD cool n quiet feature and I am still getting the same processor speed. As for the ram, it picks up 1 GB of ram which is the amount I have put in this computer.
 03/28/2010 07:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
you_fail86
Newbie

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/28/2010

i have that same cpu. and i ran that test i got 1603.45mhz. its not 1800,00 but its just my test computer
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information