AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Is AMD64 Architecture IA64 Compatible?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/08/2003 06:04 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/08/2003 06:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Iridium
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/08/2003

Windows Server 2003 64-bit Edition is stated to be for "Itanium-based" systems. The Itanium uses the IA64 architecture. The AMD Opteron uses the AMD64 architecture.

Will Windows Server 2003 64-bit Edition run on an AMD Opteron? I suppose an alternate question would be, "Is the AMD64 architecture able to run IA64 architecture software?"

Thank you for your input. I would really like to install Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition on our soon-to-be upgraded server network. I intend to use clustered dual AMD Opteron-based platforms, and would like to take advantage of the Opteron's capability to run 64-bit and 32-bit software simultaneously, by running 64-bit Windows, and certain 32-bit applications.
 11/08/2003 07:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jes
Senior Member

Posts: 1134
Joined: 10/22/2003

No, the IA64 architecture is something completely different (think of it in terms Sparc or Alpha). The IA64 architecture won't *natively* run normal Intel 32-bit code either, which is where the AMD64 biggest advantage lies. There is next to zero penalty for running 32-bit applications natively on AMD64, but obviously the bigger benefits come once you move to a 64bit OS.

I'm not sure off the top of my head when the Windows Server for x86-64 will be released (I run Linux personally), but once it arrives you should be able to do exactly what you want (i.e run 32 and 64bit applications relatively easily and transparently).

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
http://www.shellprompt.net
Unix & Oracle Web Hosting Provider powered by AMD Opterons
 11/08/2003 08:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
awd4dad
Member

Posts: 117
Joined: 10/06/2003

as mentionned here' ">http://www.techweb.com/wire/story/TWB20031015S0016, you can already grab a release of this OS for your next rigs. Even it is beta, you will be able to evaluate opteron (great) capabillities in the 64-bit field.
 11/09/2003 01:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deuxway
Member

Posts: 193
Joined: 10/08/2003

I believe AMD were giving copies of Windows-AMD64 (my name so I don't get confused) beta to marketing partners at their roadshows. If you are an MSDN subscriber, you can probably get it straight from Microsoft. This may follow Windows 2003 server pricing, which is approx $700 for standard edition.

SuSE Linux 9.0 for AMD64' ">http://www.suse.com/us/private..._linux/i386/64bit.html is available too, at the less wallet buckeling $119.95, and this isn't beta, but a full release.
 11/09/2003 03:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Iridium
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/08/2003

Yes, I will likely check into Linux options as well. Our team has experience with Windows products almost exclusively, so youcan see why we are interested in the Microsoft product.

As for the money, it isn't a problem, as it isn't my money. (laugh)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information