AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Opteron Operation
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/09/2003 05:56 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/09/2003 05:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dale
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/09/2003

I am in the process of building an Opteron box. I am having difficulty find out the difference between a the 146 and the 246. Help!!!
 11/09/2003 06:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

The only difference is that the 246 is meant for dual processor setups and as a result has 2 HT links.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 11/09/2003 06:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcy
Senior Member

Posts: 2029
Joined: 10/18/2003

Can anybody please explain to me what the point of the 14x series of Operons is.

If you can only run 1 processor why not get an AMD 64 FX


Peter
 11/09/2003 07:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dale
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/09/2003

Thanks for the info in the 100 vs 200 series Opterons. I have ordered an Asus MB and it said that it could handle both even though it is only a single proc board. I am a little confused.
 11/09/2003 10:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

14x opteron only support regestered ram

fx-51 will support NON- registered ram in the future.

fx-51 is 2.2Hgz, 14x is currently only up to 2Ghz (so far)

fx51- has *official* support for ddr400 , whereas 14x only support 333 *offically*

The really are very similar, but they will diverge a bit more in the future, fx51 is your uber game/ and maybe workstation machine, 14x's are your single processor server/workstation.

 11/09/2003 11:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Well, you have to remember that the 1xx series was around before the Athlon 64 FX. The FX came around because AMD wanted to make sure they had the definitive lead when the K8 launched for the desktop. As Bitey mentioned, in the future the FX won't need registered memory, while the 1xx series Opteron will.

Dale, your board could use either but it would be extremely pointless for you to buy a 2xx series as it's more expensive due to its ability to run in dual processor setups. Any Opteron can be placed in any Socket 940 board, regardless of the series. After all, even if you bought a 2xx series, it's still only one processor. It's just capable of being paired with a 2nd processor.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 11/10/2003 10:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kanavit
Senior Member

Posts: 2533
Joined: 10/06/2003

QUOTE (pcy @ Nov 9 2003, 03:53 PM) Can anybody please explain to me what the point of the 14x series of Operons is.

If you can only run 1 processor why not get an AMD 64 FX


Peter
it's $181 bucks.

-------------------------
--======== proud owner of new razor tarantula gaming keyboard ========--
 11/12/2003 05:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ps24eva
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/07/2003

QUOTE (Bitey @ Nov 9 2003, 07:44 PM)
fx-51 will support NON- registered ram in the future.
On what socket?

939 or 940


will it support plain ol' regular ram on socket 940!!??
 11/12/2003 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Socket 939. The FX requires registered memory on Socket 940.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information