AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: X2 vs. Opteron 939
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/05/2005 03:57 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/22/2006 09:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: EduardoS
Why the 1xx is listed with 3 HT links? And why 3?



I think the theory is that the non-coherent links can be used to connect extra chipset and other devices(maybe even infiniband) and may be used on your more niche products like blade or clusters.
Whereas the x2 is desktop chip with no need for huige io or connectivity bandwidth hence those links will not be needed

But as far as I know I have never seen single cpu boards ever use more than one of those HT links. (they do on multi socket boards tho)
 03/22/2006 10:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zir_blazer
Code Warrior

Posts: 2840
Joined: 03/19/2004

All the K8s brings an Uncoherent Hyper Transport Link to communicate with the Northbridge. Coherent Hyper Transport Links are used for communication bewthem Processors, and that is something than Opterons 1xx don't have because they are from Uniprocessor Workstations or Servers. Opterons 2xx and 8xx got respectively 1 and 3 Coherent Hyper Transport Links.
Besides, Socket 939 Opterons 1xx uses the same San Diego Core than many Athlons 64, if it got them, then the Athlons 64 got them too. On the other hand, there is nowhere where you can connect the other two Uncoherent Hyper Transport Links, so they can't give you extra Bandwidth. And even if they do, don't forget than is already proved than in Uniprocessor platforms, you can even lower the Hyper Transport Frecuency to 400 MHz and you will still get the same performance because it gives absurdinly more Bandwidth than what the communications bewthem the Northbridge and Processor can consume.
 03/25/2006 04:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Opteron
Senior Member

Posts: 220
Joined: 10/08/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: EduardoS
Why the 1xx is listed with 3 HT links? And why 3?
And another strange thing...



Its a typo, only humans are working there. Dont worry, for reasons look at my postings at the 1st page.

regards

Opteron
 03/30/2006 06:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xelink
Senior Member

Posts: 225
Joined: 03/03/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Danish
Well , I just like to know one thing :

If Opteron X2 and Athlon X2 is the same ; /blink.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blink:" border="0" alt="blink.gif" />
then why the f... are they called different names ?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

Those who claim they are identical should rename
Opteron 165 into Athlon 3900+
Athlon 3800+ into Opteron 163
Opteron 170 into Athlon 4100+
Athlon 4200+ into Opteron 172

And so on , come on there are (probably company-secretive) differences ? /ph34r.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="h34r:" border="0" alt="ph34r.gif" />
But what ? If AMD doesn' t reveal this , we'll all buy Intel-products now !

NB : Though actually my Pentium M is better than most AMD's in gaming ...



Two things:

it would be
opteron 165 to x2 3700+
x2 3800+ to opteron 164

based off performance at stock clock speeds.

================

and comparing your Pentium M to old Tbirds and K5s is a rather unfair, try comparing it to the bottom of the line A64 3000+

also try comparing yonah to the X2s... X2 beat it out because of HTT and the int memory controller
================


as for whether or not the X2s are identical to the opterons, who gives a care, it's within .000001% performance wise.

-------------------------

--C2D e6400@3.2GHz 1.264V; 2Gb DDR2-800 RAM 4-4-3-6; 250GB seagate baracuda w/ PRM; GeForce 7600GT(620/800)
--AMD Athlon 64 3000+; 512mb DDR400 ram; GeForce 6100, 80GB seagate baracuda 7200rpm 8mb cache
 03/30/2006 11:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

Opterons do use better silicon substrates, this is stated pretty clearly by AMD as one of its advantages.
 03/31/2006 08:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
augerpro
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/10/2006

What truth is there to the Opty having more stable mem controllers? I've heard less stable ones can be a problem when running high fsb or ram speeds at 1T. That was one reason I went with my 165 when building a new rig that I was going to oc.

Also being able to be stable and still run 1.3-1.35v instead of the higher 1.4-1.45v of X2s says alot about what you can expect when you oc I think. Alot of headroom to oc and the possibility of doing it with lower volts, and thus temperature. Also reatail Optys have a really good hsf even for pretty big overclocks, you won't need to buy an aftermarket one like you would with an X2. Even if the mem controllers perform the same just these 2 reasons alone make the Opty the preferable purchase.
 03/31/2006 08:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MG37221
Senior Member

Posts: 232
Joined: 02/08/2004

You will find that all of the AMD dual core processors (4200 up) are now shipping with the same heat-pipe coolers. These are excellent coolers but aren't unique to the Opterons.

Lower voltage is nice and also available on the newer, lower wattage X2s.

As far too many have said already for it to still be unheard... if you overclock, go with an Opteron. If you don't overclock, go with whatever gives you the best price. At stock speeds, core for core (Toledo/Denmark (which IS a Toledo) there is no difference.
 04/05/2006 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
burntham77
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Joined: 06/16/2005

So based on everything here, it seems that an Opteron will run cooler than an equally clocked x2. About how much of a temperature difference are we talking here? Reason I ask is that living in a hot climate, I have an interest in cooler running CPUs.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information