AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Win XP pro 64bit OCing program + tweaker
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/09/2005 07:57 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/09/2005 07:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

if you go to this link you will find an overclocking program that works in windows xp pro 64bit for nforce3 and nforce 4 boards.

I can confirm it works well on a supermicro H8DCE /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/browse.php?c=17' ">http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/browse.php?c=17

there is also a handy program for tweaking your memory setting which again works in windows xp pro 64bit, you can even turn ecc on and off, thanks iq100 /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />

So those people using nforce boards in win XP pro 64bit with no bios support for overclocking may now start there engines, first person to melt their opteron(s) wins a cookie /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />
 11/09/2005 08:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

a word of caution it seems to remember your last setting between warm restarts/reboots /blink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blink.gif' />

I set my 246 to 2100 with no problem.(showed 2084)

tried 2200 and my computer rebooted and started at 2156 it running stable now.( I think I will have to double check)

So It may be the case if you pick to high a setting and you computer cannot restart you may have to pull the plug and wait a minute or two for your settings to revert.

The program also supports underclocking, so there is also a cookie for the first person to freeze their opteron(s) /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />



 11/09/2005 10:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

I have never seen that much of an improvement in overclocking. I have seen more overheating from it. You can toast an Opteron very easy. Make sure you have very good HSFs and chassis fans. Monitor your CPU temps.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information