AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: opteron 146 vs 3200+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/06/2005 03:48 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/06/2005 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
оверкло&
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/06/2005

hi
i want to know
1.why the 146 price is 125$ and 3200+ is 159$ and opteron has 1mb L2 cache and is cheaper?
2.is there in The opteron processor L1 cache?
thx
 12/06/2005 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

the opteron 146 is better in all ways than the 3200+ but you would be lucky if you can find one, it certainly will not be at that low a price.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 12/06/2005 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
оверкло&
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/06/2005

WHY BETTER CAN YOU EXPLAIN It ?better and cheaper hm....
 12/06/2005 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

QUOTE(овер
@ Dec 6 2005, 03:53 PM)WHY BETTER CAN YOU EXPLAIN It ?better and cheaper hm....
[right][snapback]561627[/snapback][/right]



There is no way to explain it. They OC like crazy and have a higher cache but they are lower priced. Its weird but thats how it is. The Opterons are better.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 12/06/2005 05:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
оверкло&
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/06/2005

lol
can someone explain ME my two questions...
 12/06/2005 05:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

1 - i answered that. it IS BETTER IN EVERY WAY.
2 - all have L1 cache.

opterons are the same things as A64s, just tested harder and with premium parts. if you CAN buy an opteron, BUY AN OPTERON.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 12/06/2005 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
оверкло&
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/06/2005

i did it !!!
but i cant uderstand why it is cheaper
 12/06/2005 06:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

QUOTE(овер
@ Dec 6 2005, 06:04 PM)i did it !!!
but i cant uderstand why it is cheaper
[right][snapback]561728[/snapback][/right]


WE DON'T KNOW WHY THEY ARE CHEAPER.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 12/06/2005 07:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
оверкло&
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/06/2005

if you dont know you dont post ! if you know you post...
 12/06/2005 07:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

you are being an [content edited]. none of us are in the marketing department of AMD. they are cheaper, and better, in every possible way.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 12/06/2005 07:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

QUOTE(овер
@ Dec 6 2005, 07:30 PM)if you dont know you dont post ! if you know you post...
[right][snapback]561761[/snapback][/right]



The reason no one has posted with the answer is because there isn't one. Is it too hard to accept that they are cheaper but are better? Ask the retailers that are selling them why they are cheaper, they are the ones pricing them. You're one of those people that looks a gift horse in the mouth aren't you?

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 12/06/2005 08:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
оверкло&
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/06/2005

ok thanks a lot guys
 12/08/2005 12:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

i have a feeling that was sarcasm

<<< NO OPTIE FOR YOU! >>>

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 12/08/2005 02:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
оверкло&
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/06/2005

it wasnt...
i already bought one model144 it runs 380*8 ht3
I Love THIs CPU!!!
 12/08/2005 09:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

oh, well then enjoy
3040mhz, is that on air!? what rev do you have?

it is an awesome CPU. you must have got it pretty fast, and recently
where did you get it? a lot of people are looking for them

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 12/12/2005 04:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tytlyf
Member

Posts: 153
Joined: 02/21/2005

this guy "0030024q30120" is a recycled douche, dont listen to him, he's trolling. And yes I have a venus. now go take your lame posts elsewhere

-------------------------
DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D 939 623-2bta
AMD Venus 148 @ 2.9 1.49vcore Zalman CNPS9500
G.Skill 1GBFX 2-2-2-5 @ DDR528 2.6vdimm
eVga 6800GS 256mb @ 485/1.1
WD Raptor 74GB sata150
Fortron B-S 500w
<span
 12/14/2005 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

Actually the real reason is your &^%# lucky
Opterons are still way more expensive than athlon64's in Australia /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' />
/tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />
 12/16/2005 12:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

MOST are. 940s are. but the s939 144 is more expensive than the s939 3000+?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 12/18/2005 08:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

The prices are dropping a bit, but it usuualy takes quite a while before the new parts are available here.

I can't even find a price for a 144 939 to compare, I can only find the faster parts in 939.

But for the first time I have seen, 165 opties are AUD$34 cheaper than 3800 x2's so I guess its getting better...slowly /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

 12/18/2005 08:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

even if it were 34 more, you get double the L2 cache and a cooler less-voltagey running processor.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information