AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Opteron vs X2 3800+
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/17/2005 12:53 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/17/2005 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
YeJX
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/17/2005

Hi I want to build a new PC run both WinXP and Linux
some people suggest
Opteron 165
some suggest Athlon X2 3800+
I would like to do 50% computation 30% surfing 20% game
Can Opteron 165 really work with game?
 12/17/2005 12:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

Yes

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 12/17/2005 01:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
YeJX
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/17/2005

QUOTE(bp1019 @ Dec 17 2005, 11:58 AM)Yes
[right][snapback]568709[/snapback][/right]



Is Opteron 165 really better than X2 3800+
 12/17/2005 01:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

QUOTE(YeJX @ Dec 17 2005, 01:01 PM)Is Opteron 165 really better than X2 3800+
[right][snapback]568711[/snapback][/right]


Yes /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 12/17/2005 01:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
YeJX
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/17/2005

QUOTE(zeppelinrox @ Dec 17 2005, 12:04 PM)Yes /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
[right][snapback]568715[/snapback][/right]


i have not OC b4, guess will not OC at beginning. is Opteron still better?
and what mobo is best for it
 12/17/2005 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rahimali
Member

Posts: 84
Joined: 11/26/2005

QUOTE(YeJX @ Dec 17 2005, 12:09 PM)i have not OC b4, guess will not OC at beginning. is Opteron still better?
and what mobo is best for it
[right][snapback]568720[/snapback][/right]

Yes /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
 12/17/2005 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
YeJX
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/17/2005

QUOTE(rahimali @ Dec 17 2005, 01:33 PM)Yes  /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
[right][snapback]568765[/snapback][/right]

what motherboard
 12/17/2005 03:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra would be a good board to get, it gives lots of OC options and is good even at stock speeds.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 12/17/2005 03:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

QUOTE(YeJX @ Dec 17 2005, 03:23 PM)what motherboard
[right][snapback]568800[/snapback][/right]


this thread is nearly the same question therefore, see answers /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />

http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=63415&hl=' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=63415&hl=

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 12/18/2005 02:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rahimali
Member

Posts: 84
Joined: 11/26/2005

QUOTE(YeJX @ Dec 17 2005, 02:23 PM)what motherboard
[right][snapback]568800[/snapback][/right]


I'd suggest an Asus motherboard, any motherboard with the NF4 Ultra or SLI chipsets. Personally, I'm getting an A8N SLI Premium for my new rig. The reason not to go DFI is that while they may be the fastest out there and while they may be the best overclockers ever, they have an infinite number of problems/issues starting with not even wanting to start up in the first place /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

-------------------------
 12/18/2005 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
harobikes333
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/11/2005

Opterons right now are quite expensive.... well the 165 is anyway.... So right now I'd get a 3800 X2 if I were you
 12/18/2005 08:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

read sig, buy opty

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 12/18/2005 09:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

QUOTE(harobikes333 @ Dec 18 2005, 08:02 PM)Opterons right now are quite expensive.... well the 165 is anyway.... So right now I'd get a 3800 X2 if I were you
[right][snapback]569577[/snapback][/right]


They are about the same price. I actually ordered my Opteron 165 for less than what I could have ordered an X2 3800+ but now they are about the same.

Even for a few bucks more, Opteron is more than worth it.. for right now and most importantly, for later

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 12/30/2005 02:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
{DK}AirtekHVAC
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/30/2005

I did much research, and found that there are equal opinions going to both sides..so I figured the Opteron had more features, and everyone seems to OC'ing it, so there should be alot of support for OC'ing N00Bs..So I got the OPTY 165..(last night from NE). I am going to put it in the eVGA NF4 SLi board, with Geil 2GB Dual Channel...should be a monster of a gamer....now to go to XP64, or stay with Pro 32bit..that is the question....
 12/30/2005 05:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

no more features! SAME EXACT THING, just better for overclocking.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 12/31/2005 12:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rahimali
Member

Posts: 84
Joined: 11/26/2005

QUOTE(TheReturnOfAZ @ Dec 30 2005, 04:58 PM)no more features!  SAME EXACT THING, just better for overclocking.
[right][snapback]579543[/snapback][/right]


at least one extra feature. twice the L2 cache (per core) versus the X2

-------------------------
 01/01/2006 11:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
teamxrsx
Junior Member

Posts: 17
Joined: 12/28/2005

So, the opteron is a dual core.....if the prcessor is rated at 2.2ghz (Opteron 148), does this mean you double this speed to get the actual output of this CPU? Sorry, i'm a newb to the opteron.

I curently have a OCed 3000+ Barton @ 2.4ghz and am looking to upgrade, while save as much money as possible and the opteron world was just opened up to me recently, as i was looking at an A64 CPU set-up before i leanred of the opty.
 01/02/2006 10:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rahimali
Member

Posts: 84
Joined: 11/26/2005

QUOTE(teamxrsx @ Jan 1 2006, 10:09 PM)So, the opteron is a dual core.....if the prcessor is rated at 2.2ghz (Opteron 148), does this mean you double this speed to get the actual output of this CPU? Sorry, i'm a newb to the opteron.

I curently have a OCed 3000+ Barton @ 2.4ghz and am looking to upgrade, while save as much money as possible and the opteron world was just opened up to me recently, as i was looking at an A64 CPU set-up before i leanred of the opty.
[right][snapback]581419[/snapback][/right]


all opterons are not dual core; some are single core and some are dual. The 148 Opty is not a dual core processor. you can see here' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce..._118_8826_9240,00.html which ones are single core and which ones are dual core

-------------------------
 01/02/2006 11:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
teamxrsx
Junior Member

Posts: 17
Joined: 12/28/2005

QUOTE(rahimali @ Jan 2 2006, 11:29 AM)all opterons are not dual core; some are single core and some are dual.  The 148 Opty is not a dual core processor.  you can see here' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/Proce..._118_8826_9240,00.html which ones are single core and which ones are dual core
[right][snapback]581705[/snapback][/right]


I stand corrected, thanks for the link, that put everything into perspective. I am really interested in the opteron chips....which would be better for overclocking while being the best bang for the buck, single core or dual core? I was looking at the 148 and the 165....

thanks

CJ
 01/02/2006 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rahimali
Member

Posts: 84
Joined: 11/26/2005

QUOTE(teamxrsx @ Jan 2 2006, 10:41 AM)I stand corrected, thanks for the link, that put everything into perspective. I am really interested in the opteron chips....which would be better for overclocking while being the best bang for the buck, single core or dual core? I was looking at the 148 and the 165....

thanks

CJ
[right][snapback]581769[/snapback][/right]


both the 148 and the 165 are awesome overclockers. as for the best bang for buck/value for money, it depends on what you intend to use them for. in any case, i'll let the more senior / knowledgeable people answer that one /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information