AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Thunder K8WE (S2895)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/04/2005 12:45 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/04/2005 12:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yue_Hong
Overclocker

Posts: 562
Joined: 11/24/2004

hi,
If anyone of you do have the Thunder K8WE (S2895) motherboard. Can you please tell me what chassis vendors, power supplies, and Heatsink / Cooling Devices you are using with it?

-------------------------
"If you look at the last five years, if you look at what major innovations have occurred in computing technology, every single one of them came from AMD. Not a single innovation came from Intel." -- AMD CEO Hector Ruiz in 2007
 08/04/2005 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flintstone
Senior Member

Posts: 265
Joined: 10/07/2003

I'm using a Lian-Li PC76 Chasis, the greatest thing since sliced bread! Although it's absolutely huge, it fits all 7 of my SCSI hdds perfectly.

For a power supply, I'm using a custom built PC Power & Cooling 850SSI.

For heatsinks, I'm using the stock hs/fans that come with the 250's. They have copper bases with fine aluminum fins with AS5. Temps are in the low 40's to mid 50's under load. But that's probably not normal if your case doesn't exchange air as well as the PC76 does.

Hope that helps.

Flint


-------------------------
2 X 250 "E" Opterons, S2895 A2NRF (K8WE) beta bios 1.01T
4 X(2x 512MB Matched) Corsair 3200 Reg ECC(TWINX1024RE-3200LLPT)
nVidia 6800GT, LSI 320-2X U320 Raid (512MB ram Onboard!!)
7 X 15,000 RPM U320 Drives, XP Pro SP2
PC Power & Cooling 850 SSI
IT WORKS!!! AND IT'S TYAN'S TECH SUPPORT THAT DID IT!!!!
 08/04/2005 11:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yue_Hong
Overclocker

Posts: 562
Joined: 11/24/2004

Thanks for your reply. Is your chassis Lian-Li PC767 because I can't find Lian-Li PC76. How can I know whether a chassis is suistable to Thunder K8WE (S2895) motherboard?

-------------------------
"If you look at the last five years, if you look at what major innovations have occurred in computing technology, every single one of them came from AMD. Not a single innovation came from Intel." -- AMD CEO Hector Ruiz in 2007
 08/21/2005 10:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
decourl
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/21/2005

QUOTE(Yue_Hong @ Aug 3 2005, 10:45 PM)hi,
If anyone of you do have the Thunder K8WE (S2895) motherboard. Can you please tell me what chassis vendors, power supplies, and Heatsink / Cooling Devices you are using with it?
[right][snapback]474003[/snapback][/right]



Yue_Hong,

Check out the Tyan web site. They provide a list of components that have been
tested by their respective manufacturers for compatibility with the K8WE.

http://www.tyan.com/support/html/r_s2895.html' ">http://www.tyan.com/support/html/r_s2895.html

Certainly there must be many other options, but choosing Tyan-recommended
products will certainly cut out the guesswork.

Personally, I purchased the Chenbro SR107 case, the Enermax EG701AX-VE (W)SFMA
power supply, and the Thermal Take A1838 processor cooling devices.

I can't necessarily recommend these components, as I have yet to acquire the
processors, memory, video card(s), and disks that will be required to bring my
system online.


Good luck,


Lincoln
 08/24/2005 10:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

http://www.caseoutlet.com/shopexd.asp?id=169' ">http://www.caseoutlet.com/shopexd.asp?id=169 has many decent chassis.

PC Power and Cooling 850 would be my choice with dual SLI adapters.

I prefer factory cooling with 3year warrenty. At extra chassis fans inbound and out.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 09/23/2005 07:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ytolyccuz
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/22/2005

Hello Yue Hong,

I'm also building a dual-opteron setup with Tyan K8WE S2895.

If you're looking for a case, make sure that it conforms to the SSI EEB v3.5 Footprint (12” x 13”, 304.8x330.2mm) specification.

Which brings me to ask: Is Lian-Li's PC-V2000B compliant of this standard? I've been trying to get a hold of detailed documentation from Lian-Li but their website is pretty inadequate. /dry.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='dry.gif' />

Looking forward to your replies and advice. Thanks.
 09/25/2005 01:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WozniakMac
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/25/2005

QUOTE(Ytolyccuz @ Sep 23 2005, 06:41 AM)Hello Yue Hong,

I'm also building a dual-opteron setup with Tyan K8WE S2895.

If you're looking for a case, make sure that it conforms to the SSI EEB v3.5 Footprint (12” x 13”, 304.8x330.2mm) specification.

Which brings me to ask: Is Lian-Li's PC-V2000B compliant of this standard? I've been trying to get a hold of detailed documentation from Lian-Li but their website is pretty inadequate.  /dry.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='dry.gif' />

Looking forward to your replies and advice. Thanks.
[right][snapback]508097[/snapback][/right]


I have the Lian Li V2000A Case, and everything fits fine in it. Very big case though. My Tyan K8WE also fits in my Antec Mid Tower case. It's basically the Chieftec Dragon, but Mid tower.

-------------------------
Tyan K8WE MoBo
2x Opteron 246 C0's
2x 6800 Ultras in SLi
8x 512MB Corsair Registered RAM
2x 80GB Barracudas in RAID 0
1x 120GB WD Caviar Storage
1x 250GB WD Caviar Storage
 09/27/2005 05:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ytolyccuz
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/22/2005

QUOTEI have the Lian Li V2000A Case, and everything fits fine in it. Very big case though.
Hello WozniakMac,

Thanks for the Info. At last someone demistified my worries. Being in the topic, what power supply do you use and how does it fit in that case? Do I need special adapters? Is the airflow good? I plan to use Full-sized Zalman CNPS7700's.

THanks Again for the info that was really helpful. /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />
 10/07/2005 12:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WozniakMac
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 09/25/2005

QUOTE(Ytolyccuz @ Sep 27 2005, 04:39 AM)Hello WozniakMac,

Thanks for the Info. At last someone demistified my worries. Being in the topic, what power supply do you use and how does it fit in that case? Do I need special adapters? Is the airflow good? I plan to use Full-sized Zalman CNPS7700's.

THanks Again for the info that was really helpful.  /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />
[right][snapback]510631[/snapback][/right]


I am using:

1. Power Supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/...asp?...N82E16817194001' ">http://www.newegg.com/Product/...p?Item=N82E16817194001

I think the zalmans will fit, but I would check and make sure.

-------------------------
Tyan K8WE MoBo
2x Opteron 246 C0's
2x 6800 Ultras in SLi
8x 512MB Corsair Registered RAM
2x 80GB Barracudas in RAID 0
1x 120GB WD Caviar Storage
1x 250GB WD Caviar Storage
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information