AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: new Opteron 144 for S939 and old Abit AX8
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/30/2005 12:30 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/30/2005 12:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SeekerHunter
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/30/2005

Hello there,

anybody knows if the new opterons for S939 run on Abit AX8 V1.0 (uses VIA KT890) boards? San Diego an Venice do.

thx4help,
Seeker
 10/01/2005 01:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

your in luck according to this

http://www.abit-usa.com/products/mb/amd-athlonFX-s.php' ">http://www.abit-usa.com/products/mb/amd-athlonFX-s.php

with the right bios it should work, the 939 athlons should be exaclty the same as the 939 1xx opterons except the opterons go through a more thorough validation.

If you really want to be absolutly sure contact abit directly

 10/01/2005 04:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SeekerHunter
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/30/2005

thanks for your reply.

unfortunately the austrian section of ABIT couldn't tell me, atm I'm waiting for the guys at the US office to answer my mail.
As the opterons aren't currently available in austria (they'll be shipped on 6th at the earlyest) thats not to bad. until then somebody may have tested this combination and put the results online.

cu, Seeker
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information