AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: K8N-DL with 1 Opteron 248
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/28/2005 01:32 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/28/2005 01:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lightsout773
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/28/2005

Hello,

I hope this is the right forum for this question:

I have just finished putting together a new workstation built around an Asus K8N-DL and a single Opteron 248. Everything is working great, but Windows XP Pro shows only 1 processor in the Task Manager / Performance section.

I was given the impression that Windows should see two processors because of the AMD HyperTransport. Any ideas?

 12/28/2005 01:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flintstone
Senior Member

Posts: 265
Joined: 10/07/2003

AMD Hyper Transport is a link technology. Intel's Hyper Threading technology is a "method" of fooling the OS into thinking there are 2 computing cores available to it. So, simply, you have 1 computing core and task manager will show exactly that.

Hyper Transport does NOT equal Hyper Threading.

Hope that helps.

Flint

-------------------------
2 X 250 "E" Opterons, S2895 A2NRF (K8WE) beta bios 1.01T
4 X(2x 512MB Matched) Corsair 3200 Reg ECC(TWINX1024RE-3200LLPT)
nVidia 6800GT, LSI 320-2X U320 Raid (512MB ram Onboard!!)
7 X 15,000 RPM U320 Drives, XP Pro SP2
PC Power & Cooling 850 SSI
IT WORKS!!! AND IT'S TYAN'S TECH SUPPORT THAT DID IT!!!!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information