AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: mobo options for optron 165 (s939)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/31/2005 10:59 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/31/2005 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3652528
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/29/2005

i am planning to get opty 165- s939 and am unable to find a suitable motherboard. i will be using this sys for animation and will be using Nvidia Quadro FX 1300 or 1400. which mobo for opty 165 will be the best combination for animation.
 12/31/2005 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

any high quality 939 pin motherboard will do.
It's just a question of what options that you want on it
for example, would you want firewire? on board sound? raid? overclocking ability?

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 12/31/2005 12:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

I like my DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D, it has alot of options and offers good performance. If you need more suggestions, let us know what options you want/need.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 12/31/2005 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

if he is using a quadro, it doesnt sound like he is overclocking... at least i hope not

No overclocking: Asus premium (i always forget full name)
overclocking: dfi lanparty sli-dr or expert

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 12/31/2005 02:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moose64
Senior Member

Posts: 836
Joined: 03/26/2005

QUOTE(TheReturnOfAZ @ Dec 31 2005, 02:33 PM)if he is using a quadro, it doesnt sound like he is overclocking... at least i hope not

No overclocking:  Asus premium (i always forget full name)
overclocking: dfi lanparty sli-dr or expert
[right][snapback]580215[/snapback][/right]

A8N-SLI Premium. ( IT will overclock good. But DFI is for OCing) /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 ,Xeon x3360
Cooler Master COSMOS Case,
4G OCZ DDR3 1600 2x2G 7.6.6.24 @2T
HIS 3870x2
WD 150G Raptor x2 0Raid & WD 250G Storage Drive.
Antec Quattro 1000Watt PS
Vista 64Bit.
 01/01/2006 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
{DK}AirtekHVAC
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/30/2005

I got the eVGA NF4 sli...amazing product!
 01/01/2006 12:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3652528
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/29/2005

Thanks for your replies and time guys.

According to AMD the only mobo compatible with opty 165- s939 is tyan Tomcat K8E (S2865) & s2866 for sli and I know that most top of the line 939 mobos will recognize opty 165 even though they (ASUS, DFI, etc) don’t officially support it. But I want to know which mobo will be perfect for my needs and will give me least trouble. I don’t need anything fancy but one that does the job. I want to keep the cost to the minimum.

The following are the features I am looking for:
Raid 0
Firewire
onboard sound
No overclocking
Sli (maybe)
PCIe 16x

And please let me know if I need anything else.

And so far I have decided on the following:

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 300 MB/s
LG Black E-IDE / ATAPI DVD Burner 5X DVD-RAM Write Model GSA-4167B
Nvidia Quadro FX 1300 or 1400
 01/02/2006 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

Tyan is nice choice, interestingly enough DFI is now officially supporting opterons on some of its board as well. Asus has added a bit of support as well, but I am not sure it is "offical"


I think you will probably need a good EPS atx powewr supply as well.
 01/03/2006 02:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

msi neo 4 platinum functions very well with denmarks

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
 01/06/2006 01:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3652528
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/29/2005

how about this mobo, its supported by AMD as well,
TYAN S2865ANRF Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra and the other option i considered was asus a8n-e. though tyan costs $60 more, it has all i need and has no issues.
its got a pci X16 for my quadro,
got firewire
sata 3gbps
raid 0,
does this one support sata 2 features like NCQ?

d u guys think i need anything else?

thanks once again for ur help guys.
 01/06/2006 01:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

http://www.tyan.com/products/html/tomcatk8e.html' ">http://www.tyan.com/products/html/tomcatk8e.html

Thats the product page for that motherboard and there is more info if you click the specifications link.

Looks good /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/06/2006 01:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

QUOTE(3652528 @ Jan 6 2006, 01:11 AM)does this one support sata 2 features like NCQ?
[right][snapback]585752[/snapback][/right]



That board would be good. I believe that since it supports SATAII that it would support all the SATAII features like NCQ. Just make sure you are sure you won't OC and don't need SLI. If you might want either of those you could get the DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR and it will do all that for you. You will need a good PSU, Enermax Liberty 500W is supposed to be good.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 01/06/2006 02:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

i wouldnt get a lanparty if you are not going to OC
no OC my default answer is asus a8n sli premium
but i know nothing of the tyan boards

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/09/2006 04:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

i also add that if you intend on expanding your projects enough, it is a moral imperative that you get a board that offers raid 5... you must protect your invested time. thats one reason i like that neo4 board... which does support denmarks.

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
 01/12/2006 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

SLI-DR has raid 5

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information