AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 148 vs 246
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/23/2005 05:07 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/23/2005 05:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
s_tristan
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/23/2005

We are planning purchase the Opteron-based 1-CPU small server and reviewing next configuration:
CPU: Opteron 148 or 246 (this CPU have approximately same price)
M/b: TYAN Tomcat K8S (S2850G2N)
RAM: 2x512 ECC (later can be expandable up to 4x512 ECC)

So question: what CPU we must choose 148 or 246 for best performance?
 05/23/2005 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Super_Dude
Senior Member

Posts: 1078
Joined: 07/22/2004

148 if your going to use a single one. but if youd ever like to build a dual go for the 246. And i believe theres only a 200mhz difference. But you cant use a 1xx cpu on a dual opteron board. but a 2xx on a single opteron board

-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/superdude11

DFI NF3 Ultra-D
3200+ Venice
1GB(2x512) Gskill FX
Visiontek XTASY X850XTPE
Antec True 430w
300gb Maxtor
TDK 420-N DVD/+RW drive
 05/23/2005 07:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

148 = good, but no expansion later...
246 = good also, but has expansion options for down the road...

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
 05/23/2005 08:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
s_tristan
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/23/2005

No expantion is planned. We'll be use only 1 CPU. What solution give maximum PERFOMANCE ONLY?
 05/24/2005 02:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Super_Dude
Senior Member

Posts: 1078
Joined: 07/22/2004

The 148 then, if you dont plan on upgrading to two cpus in the future.

-------------------------
' ">http://profile.xfire.com/superdude11

DFI NF3 Ultra-D
3200+ Venice
1GB(2x512) Gskill FX
Visiontek XTASY X850XTPE
Antec True 430w
300gb Maxtor
TDK 420-N DVD/+RW drive
 05/24/2005 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
arcangel
Member

Posts: 119
Joined: 04/01/2005

my vote is for 148

-------------------------
Dual opteron 246
Tyan Thunder K8WE SCSI
Corsair, Seagate, Antec, Samsung, Sparkle.
 05/24/2005 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

theres not even a choice involved...if youre staying single... then you'd be crazy to invest in a 2XX... unless you just have to have dual core now.

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information