AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon To Opteron Upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/14/2005 02:44 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/14/2005 02:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jasonl
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/14/2005

I have 9 dual Athlon mp 2800+ servers and wanting to change over to Opteron. Both mobos will be tyan boards with 2 gig memory in a 2u rackmount case. Prob is what processor will be as fast as the Athlons I currently use because if I degrade the performance any I will no longer be competitive. Although I dont mind going to a slightly higher performance processor I do not want to kill my pocket book either.
 04/14/2005 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Calvn_Swing
Senior Member

Posts: 293
Joined: 01/13/2004

Well,

I can't for the life of me find the actualy speed of the 2800's, but I can remember the speed of my old 1800's - 1500MHz.

However, I upgraded from the 1800's to Opteron 246's and was blown away by the difference in single threaded applications, and that isn't even considering improvements in multi-threaded ones. (An animation that took 3 weeks on the 1800's ran in 3 days on my opterons. (Given, I have a different graphics card but it isn't a major upgrade from the one I rendered on for 3 weeks.)

Point being, technically I only upgraded from a total of 3.0 Ghz to 4.0 Ghz. However, the architecture of the chip is better (and 64bit capable), the bus speed is much faster (Hyper Transport!, the memory is much faster(Integrated Memory Controller), the only thing that hasn't changed much is the graphics. Still AGP 8x and on a last-gen craphics card; and yet, I have a performance gain like that?

So, even if you are going with a slightly slower Ghz Opteron, you should still see a good performance gain overall. Or, if you want to upgrade your processor even more you can consider usint SATA hard drives instead of SCSI as they are now almost as fast and dependable but much less expensive per Gigabyte. (I'm assuming you are running SCSI in your current setups.)

Anyways, everything has improved across the board (no pun intended) since you bought your systems.

Ooh! I found it! 2.13 Ghz.

So, I'd say even with 246's (2.0 Ghz) you'd see some improvement due to the better architecture and higher bus speeds. However, to be sure, go with 248's as they are 2.2 Ghz processors. Either way you'll be happy. (And, they will be upgradable to dual core processors when you need to upgrade again in a year or two. You won't have to replace anything else even - unless you want to.)

Good Luck!

-------------------------
Iwill Zmax DP SFF Barebones kit... (300W PSU, 8 USB, 1 FW, etc...)
Dual AMD Opteron 275's | 2 Gigs (2 Dimms 1024Mb) Patriot RAM 3-3-3-8
WD Caviar 80 Gig HDD - System
WD Raptor 74 Gig HDD
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256
NEC ND-3520A Dual Layer DVD±RW | Mitsumi Floppy/Card Reader combo
 04/14/2005 08:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Calvn_Swing
Senior Member

Posts: 293
Joined: 01/13/2004

What are you going to do with the ones you're replacing???

I could use a few render nodes...

hehe.

Oh well, never hurts to ask!

-------------------------
Iwill Zmax DP SFF Barebones kit... (300W PSU, 8 USB, 1 FW, etc...)
Dual AMD Opteron 275's | 2 Gigs (2 Dimms 1024Mb) Patriot RAM 3-3-3-8
WD Caviar 80 Gig HDD - System
WD Raptor 74 Gig HDD
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256
NEC ND-3520A Dual Layer DVD±RW | Mitsumi Floppy/Card Reader combo
 04/15/2005 03:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jasonl
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/14/2005

To tell you the truth I will be slowly removing them because of demand growing so fast. As of right now I am needing 3 maybe 4 more systems in the next few weeks so I may just add these then replace an old one every month until they are all gone. Then I will prop use those for the rentals until they are shot.
 04/15/2005 10:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Calvn_Swing
Senior Member

Posts: 293
Joined: 01/13/2004

sounds like a sound plan.

-------------------------
Iwill Zmax DP SFF Barebones kit... (300W PSU, 8 USB, 1 FW, etc...)
Dual AMD Opteron 275's | 2 Gigs (2 Dimms 1024Mb) Patriot RAM 3-3-3-8
WD Caviar 80 Gig HDD - System
WD Raptor 74 Gig HDD
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256
NEC ND-3520A Dual Layer DVD±RW | Mitsumi Floppy/Card Reader combo
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information