AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Opteron Cost
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/13/2003 06:40 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/13/2003 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
djmattd
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/13/2003

Do Opterons 200 series come in pair?

for exemple the cost of a 144 is 670$ and a 244 is 1050$

why such a big price diffrence?
 10/13/2003 07:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dave Graham
Senior Member

Posts: 351
Joined: 10/05/2003

To answer your first question:

no, opterons are not sold in pairs.

To answer your second question:

(this may be inaccurate, but it's my best shot) the pricing of the Opteron is determined by several factors:
1.) How best to derive a comfortable profit margin for AMD
2.) How much the market can REALISTICALLY bear
3.) psychological perception (if it's priced high, it must be good...)
4.) by speed grade

This is NOT exhaustive nor all inclusive. I think points 1 and 4 are probably MOST accurate and 2 and 3 are subjective to it.

just my thoughts,

dave

-------------------------
----------
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
-----------
Owner, Webmaster
Flickerdown Data Systems' ">http://www.flickerdown.com/stewks/
"The Fusion of Hardware and Life"
 10/13/2003 08:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
djmattd
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/13/2003

Well thank you very much
 10/13/2003 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

Well, in this case, speed grade would make a difference. You're essentially paying a premium for the additional HT link. The 2xx series can be used in dual-processor systems, whereas the 1xx series can't.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 10/14/2003 01:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

yeah, you pay for extra HT, and the testing to certify that it will run reliably in a dual configuration.
 10/21/2003 02:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pro Kid
Senior Member

Posts: 5241
Joined: 10/08/2003

exactly, incase you didn't know, and it doesn't look like you did, the first number designates how many can be put into a system, and the last 2 rate the speed. So an Opteron at say 846 can be put in a system that supports 8 opterons and they would run at 2.0GHz.

-------------------------
Life is hard you know this $hit gets taxin,
Thats why when ya find me Ima be relaxin...
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information