AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Opteron versus Athalon64 FX51
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/17/2004 01:26 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/17/2004 01:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zooker
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/17/2004

I bought an 144 Opteron to use as a Single computer CPU. I wanted to be able to
buy the FX51 when I got the money. The layout I have now will accomodate the FX51. But the opteron 148 is the same speed. What is the difference between these 2 cpu's and which one is faster?
 01/17/2004 01:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

There's no difference whatsoever. They're completely equal.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 01/17/2004 10:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

They are exactly the same speed yes.

The only difference is that the FX is multiplier unlocked, so you can overclock it.

-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 01/17/2004 10:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jes
Senior Member

Posts: 1134
Joined: 10/22/2003

Which makes me wonder exactly how many of the 148's AMD will sell versus FX51's.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
http://www.shellprompt.net
Unix & Oracle Web Hosting Provider powered by AMD Opterons
 01/17/2004 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcy
Senior Member

Posts: 2029
Joined: 10/18/2003

Indeed I still can't figure why I'd buy any 1xx Opteron.

If I wanted a dual I'd need 2xx Opterons, (even if I only bought one to start with) and the AMD64 3000 is a far more attractive deal than a 14x.


Peter
 01/17/2004 04:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ardrid
Heavy Wizardry

Posts: 12398
Joined: 10/08/2003

I'm thinking that the Opteron would receive a bit more validation than the FX, thus giving certain buyers the reason to purchase it. You'd have a bit more reassurance when using the Opteron as a 1P server/workstation.

-------------------------
Intel Core i7 860
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Corsair HX650W
Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 (4GB @ 8-8-8-24)
Sapphire Radeon HD 6870
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
 01/17/2004 05:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcy
Senior Member

Posts: 2029
Joined: 10/18/2003

OK... but I'd still need to run Prime95 for a few days to validate the whole system, and that must be rather more than AMD can do for the CPU alone in a production line.


Peter
 01/17/2004 10:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zooker
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/17/2004

Thank You! I don't intend to overclock so I think I made the correct choice!! Now you'l probably have 20 guys telling me how stupid I Am!!!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information