AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Opteron and DDR333 DIMMs
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/09/2006 06:24 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/09/2006 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pashen
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/24/2006

Hi.

Does anybody know when Opterons will support more than 4 DDR333 DIMMs ?
Now I've dual Opteron board with 4 DDR333 DIMMs per cpu and I'm not able to add more dimms.
Of course my mobo has more dimm slots than 4 by one cpu.

Regards.

Pashen
 04/10/2006 09:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

opteron 246 on up are ready to runn ddr 400... 244 on down are not.

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
 04/11/2006 10:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

Any opteron with a stepping later than c0 can run at ddr 400.(under 246's included)

However as soon as you load up the dimms slots near the maximum capacity the ram speed will drop down to ddr333 ddr 200, you may be able to force it back to 400 but thats a lottery.

My board is specced to go to 32G at ddr333, or 16G at ddr400

A board with more than 4 dimms per cpu is likely to automatically drop down to a lower speed to assure stabilty when all those dimm slots are loaded, you could try forcing higher but its up to you get it stable becasue the board only guarentee stabilty at the lower speeds when fully loaded.

However the latest eX stepping will probably maximise your chance of keeping your ram speed up when fully loaded.

What board do you have thay supports more than 4 dimms per cpu, I know Iwill make some boards that have 8 dimms per cpu.


 04/13/2006 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pashen
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Bitey

What board do you have thay supports more than 4 dimms per cpu, I know Iwill make some boards that have 8 dimms per cpu.



MSI K8D Master 3. First CPU has 8 slots and second CPU has 4 slots.

Regards.

Grzegorz
 04/14/2006 08:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flintstone
Senior Member

Posts: 265
Joined: 10/07/2003

How about this:

http://www.tyan.com/products/html/thunderk8hm.html

that's got 8 per cpu!

-------------------------
2 X 250 "E" Opterons, S2895 A2NRF (K8WE) beta bios 1.01T
4 X(2x 512MB Matched) Corsair 3200 Reg ECC(TWINX1024RE-3200LLPT)
nVidia 6800GT, LSI 320-2X U320 Raid (512MB ram Onboard!!)
7 X 15,000 RPM U320 Drives, XP Pro SP2
PC Power & Cooling 850 SSI
IT WORKS!!! AND IT'S TYAN'S TECH SUPPORT THAT DID IT!!!!
 04/18/2006 04:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

MSI seems to indicate there are quite few compatible ram modules for 8x @pc3200.

http://www.msi.com.tw/program/.../ser...rcm.php?UID=560
 04/19/2006 11:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
highlandsun
B1FF

Posts: 111
Joined: 03/10/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Bitey
MSI seems to indicate there are quite few compatible ram modules for 8x @pc3200.

http://www.msi.com.tw/program/.../ser...rcm.php?UID=560



Hm, that MSI link only shows 1 1GB DIMM (Apacer) that will work for PC3200 with 8 of them. The rest are marked as only supporting up to 6 DIMMs. (I'm ignoring the 256 and 512MB modules.)

-------------------------
Asus A8V Deluxe, Opteron 185, 4xSamsung 1GB Reg/ECC DDR400, AC Freezer64 Pro, Antec Sonata case w/TruePower480
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information