AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 3.0GHz Opterons
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/11/2006 03:30 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/11/2006 03:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/c...ay/20060411063742.html

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 04/11/2006 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

yeah.. pretty low key i must say.
not even a press release.

now if it was a 939 cpu... say an fx-59 at 3.0 ghz for $851.. that would get more attention.

but still.. nice milestone

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 04/11/2006 03:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

I wonder if I could put in a rec for a new workstation... hmmm

That would be one sweet machine..

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 04/11/2006 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

at about 1000 bucks, just one would be steep... but youre right, a nice dual 256 would crank.

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
 04/11/2006 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HanShot1st
Member

Posts: 64
Joined: 03/05/2005

Gee, I want 2 pretty badly...

Although I'd love to just get my hands on just one to test on watercooling.
 05/28/2006 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HanShot1st
Member

Posts: 64
Joined: 03/05/2005

Only had it about 2 days...
Does 3190mhz on stock vcore no prob.
This is with ~1.60 + water.
no suicide shot yet, going for stability...
max temp reached ~48c (software)
I already forgot, but I think the chip is an "0605 GPAW"











 05/28/2006 06:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

Wow thats very nice.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 05/28/2006 08:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HanShot1st
Member

Posts: 64
Joined: 03/05/2005

A more respectable HT clock 1:1 with memory.
228x14, 1.45vcore (seems to be stock)
no bus locks definitely holds me back, vga is fine but my TV tuner pci card doesn't seem to like much above 35mhz. I am using a 33/66mhz pci controller for my sata drive, as the onboard promise controller serves up a mean dish of HDD corruption past about 222mhz.
 05/28/2006 09:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

It says 940 pin opteron, is that in dual socket 940 pin board or do you have an old 940 pin single socket board with 256? /blink.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blink:" border="0" alt="blink.gif" />

or is just reporting 939 as a 940?

But anywayz , that is impressive :up:
 05/28/2006 09:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HanShot1st
Member

Posts: 64
Joined: 03/05/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Bitey
It says 940 pin opteron, is that in dual socket 940 pin board or do you have an old 940 pin single socket board with 256? /blink.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blink:" border="0" alt="blink.gif" />

or is just reporting 939 as a 940?

But anywayz , that is impressive :up:



32M



Bitey, it's a single s940 256 on a single socket board, asus sk8v. The board doesn't officially support the 200 series opterons, but later bios versions seem to work ok with 252s, 254s, 256s. I do have a dual s940 board though that runs 2x252s, and I mix and match hardware between the boards...
 05/28/2006 10:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

Cool to see your still getting use out of what was probably one of the first 940 boards, your getting better compatabilty than certain expensive dual socket boards I could mention.
 05/30/2006 03:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HanShot1st
Member

Posts: 64
Joined: 03/05/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Bitey
Cool to see your still getting use out of what was probably one of the first 940 boards, your getting better compatabilty than certain expensive dual socket boards I could mention.



hehe, you could mention my dual board, but lets leave poor old MSI out of this...lol

Priming right now @ 231x14
ran Prime blend last night @229.5x14 error free~9 hours...

SS of 1M SPI @230x14, have yet to crack into 26second territory, but it's coming.

Quite impressed with this Patriot ddr, running it at only 2.8vdimm.
Anyway, this is just pure s940 power right here!

 06/07/2006 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
soloz2
Member

Posts: 29
Joined: 10/16/2005

my 148 does 3Ghz and so does my 165.

-------------------------
CPU: Opteron CCBBE @2.8Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard: DFI Lanparty UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert (12/07 BIOS)
RAM: G.skill Extreme HZ DDR500 2gb
Video: Asus 7900GT TOP 700/1700
Audio: X-Fi Xtreme Music
HD: 2x Seagate 80gig SATA in RAID 0
Optical Drives: Sony DVD-ROMand Plextor DL DVD burner
Case: Aspire X-Navigator (soon to be CM Stacker)
PSU: Seasonic S12-600
Cooling: Custom Water

HTPC: Opteron 148, Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe, OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 TCCD, MSI 6600
 06/07/2006 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HanShot1st
Member

Posts: 64
Joined: 03/05/2005

Prime95 Blend 11 hours

3260mhz (233x14) 1:1 with mem.



normal watercooling...
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information