AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 185 versus 285 question
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/27/2006 11:48 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/27/2006 11:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kevinjv
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/27/2006

Hello,

If I'm building a single processor system, is there any reason to use a 285 instead of a 185?

From what I can tell there isn't, but I wanted to make sure.

Thanks,
Kevin
 07/27/2006 07:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

why not an FX60?
its pretty much the same thing as the 185.

the 285 is socket 940 and the 185 is socket 939

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 07/28/2006 10:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kevinjv
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/27/2006

This will probably be a rack mount server machine. It seems the systems makers are more likely to be using the 100 series rather than the FX series.

quote:

Originally posted by: zeppelinrox
why not an FX60?
its pretty much the same thing as the 185.

the 285 is socket 940 and the 185 is socket 939


 07/29/2006 11:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Flintstone
Senior Member

Posts: 265
Joined: 10/07/2003

Not for anything, but since you say "rack mount server", the reason i can think of for a 285 over a 185 is Registered/ECC memory. To my way of thinking, a server should require it. That said, I haven't seen a bunch of single socket 940 boards out there currently. The call is yours!!

Flint

Edit// You could wait for the new Opteron socket to come out if you have the time. I beleive it will be to the advantage of the manufacturers to make single socket boards again due to the prospected differences (read "Features") coming in the new chips.\\Edit

-------------------------
2 X 250 "E" Opterons, S2895 A2NRF (K8WE) beta bios 1.01T
4 X(2x 512MB Matched) Corsair 3200 Reg ECC(TWINX1024RE-3200LLPT)
nVidia 6800GT, LSI 320-2X U320 Raid (512MB ram Onboard!!)
7 X 15,000 RPM U320 Drives, XP Pro SP2
PC Power & Cooling 850 SSI
IT WORKS!!! AND IT'S TYAN'S TECH SUPPORT THAT DID IT!!!!
 07/29/2006 12:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
earloflondon
Member

Posts: 22
Joined: 08/27/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Flintstone
..... That said, I haven't seen a bunch of single socket 940 boards out there currently. .....


there is one

check this out

http://www.foxconnchannel.com/...moth...ID=en-us0000005

-------------------------
WS 1: Gigabyte GA-MA69VM-S2, Athlon 64 X2 6400+, WD Raptor 36 Gb, 4 Gb Ram, Quadro NVS 280 VGA
WS 2: Asus K8N-DL, 2*Opn 856, Seagate 36 Gb 15K SCSI, 4 Gb Ram ECC, Quadro FX 370
Svr Win: Asus NCCH-DL, 2*2.8 Xeon 604 800 HT, 560 Gb HDD SATA I, 4 Gb Ram, Quadro NVS 200 VGA
Svr Unix: Arima HDAMB, 2*Opn 250, WD Raptor 36 Gb, 4 Gb Ram ECC, 128 Mb AGP
Mob WS: Lenovo 3000 N100, T5500, 80 Gb HDD, 2 Gb Ram
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information