AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 170 fun
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/23/2006 07:41 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/23/2006 07:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
usafschue
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/23/2006

Hiya,
I'm new to the overclocking perspective, and after reading a quite in depth guide that I googled, and becoming confused as [content edited] over a couple things, I had some simpler questions about cooling.
I am running a 90mm Zalman with the goop that came in the box (OEM CPU, so no AMD parts). Should I even think about overclocking, even a little, with my CPU temp showing 32 idle and 42 full load? My chipset ranges from 29 idle to 36 full load, so it seems my 170 is running hot, is that right?

I have the 170 hooked up to an ASUS A8N-SLI with 2GB Corsair XMS and an EVGA 7800 GT @ 455 1100. 500W Neopower and Plusview 2 with 4 casefans surround it.

Any advice is accepted and appreciated /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
Tony

-------------------------
Opteron 170 @ 2x2400mhz 1.35v
Asus A8n-SLI in an Antec Plus View II w/4 fans
2 GB Corsair XMS @ 2-3-3-6 Stock (2.6) voltage
eVGA 7800 GT @ 470 1200
WD Caviar SATA 250gb 300mb/s
3dmark: 7817 with no AA
 01/23/2006 08:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

actually, if correct, those temps are quite good.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/23/2006 08:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
usafschue
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/23/2006

I use the AI booster utility that came with the ASUS board. I haven't gottn very far overclocking, sometimes getting the BSOD when the freq or voltage is too much. The actual order you do them in, as I understand it is: freq up a lil bit at a time then test with prime 95 or superpi, then when it gets "unstable" (bsod?) up the voltage. Is that correct?

Thanks,
Tony

-------------------------
Opteron 170 @ 2x2400mhz 1.35v
Asus A8n-SLI in an Antec Plus View II w/4 fans
2 GB Corsair XMS @ 2-3-3-6 Stock (2.6) voltage
eVGA 7800 GT @ 470 1200
WD Caviar SATA 250gb 300mb/s
3dmark: 7817 with no AA
 01/23/2006 09:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

well if you dont have memory that can run as fast as the FSB (example: PC3200/DDR400 will only go up to 200mhz) then you have to apply a divider to the memory.

youll see choices like 200, 166, 133, etc. (166/200)*[your FSB]<=200mhz for things not to get out of hand

and yeah, id keep CPU voltage under 1.45 for stock cooler.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/23/2006 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
usafschue
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/23/2006

Yeah, but all the way down at 1.375 I was seeing BSOD's. I thought I could at least get 2100 out of it, but I guess not, or I'm not paying attention to something, haha. I think it's safe to say that next paycheck I will research and invest in a water cooling solution since I'm totally into learning how to do this now. Thanks for your help, I'll put my nose in the books now!

Tony

-------------------------
Opteron 170 @ 2x2400mhz 1.35v
Asus A8n-SLI in an Antec Plus View II w/4 fans
2 GB Corsair XMS @ 2-3-3-6 Stock (2.6) voltage
eVGA 7800 GT @ 470 1200
WD Caviar SATA 250gb 300mb/s
3dmark: 7817 with no AA
 01/23/2006 11:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

its not necessary... that 170 WILL do 2.5ghz+ on air, EZ

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/24/2006 11:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
usafschue
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/23/2006

I have found my problem, which is silly to me. I have pc-3200 ram and forgot to adjust multipliers and ram speed accordingly. Or at least that's what I've gathered over three hours of reading while at work /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' /> Should I even delve into asynchronous ram dividers? I mean, I would love to run it 5:4, but will a higher *FSB* clock speed make up for slower ram with a dual core AMD? Also, overclocking ram is an option to me, but the BIOS says the only next step is 433, vice anything lower. How do you acheive 405-410mhz?

thanks,

Tony

-------------------------
Opteron 170 @ 2x2400mhz 1.35v
Asus A8n-SLI in an Antec Plus View II w/4 fans
2 GB Corsair XMS @ 2-3-3-6 Stock (2.6) voltage
eVGA 7800 GT @ 470 1200
WD Caviar SATA 250gb 300mb/s
3dmark: 7817 with no AA
 01/24/2006 12:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

DDR is double data rate, you cut the mhz in half.

you want to keep your RAM under 200mhz.

so run 166 or 5/6 for now

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/24/2006 05:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
usafschue
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/23/2006

So I got her to 2.4 on air and stock voltage so far, does prime 95 and super pi concurrently and hits 50C on the dot. Should I get some artic 5 and a thermalright? /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

Tony

Edit: here's a screenie



-------------------------
Opteron 170 @ 2x2400mhz 1.35v
Asus A8n-SLI in an Antec Plus View II w/4 fans
2 GB Corsair XMS @ 2-3-3-6 Stock (2.6) voltage
eVGA 7800 GT @ 470 1200
WD Caviar SATA 250gb 300mb/s
3dmark: 7817 with no AA
 01/24/2006 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

50*C is my absolute maximum.

but to get it to its absolute maximum, you need to run TWO prime95s, one per core (set affinity) and do largeFFT

if you havent already

and let it sit for like 30mins

but id go with aftermarket if it goes past 50*C

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/25/2006 10:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
usafschue
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/23/2006

QUOTE(TheReturnOfAZ @ Jan 24 2006, 07:11 PM)50*C is my absolute maximum.

but to get it to its absolute maximum, you need to run TWO prime95s, one per core (set affinity) and do largeFFT

if you havent already

and let it sit for like 30mins

but id go with aftermarket if it goes past 50*C
[right][snapback]604163[/snapback][/right]


Well, the heatsink is a really nice Zalman, so I'd like to keep that. Will I experience I large difference with the use of Artic 5 over the stock Zalman thermal paste? Also, I find it kind of odd that at 1.35 volts it gets this hot. How much does airflow factor into this equation? I have four case fans, but the airflow from the front fan is low enough to be considered a fan for the GPU since the side window fan is right next to the GPU sucking out. Thus, the two rear fans are right next to the CPU fan blowing out. Maybe it's just time for a new case, lol. Either way, you have been an enormous help, and I appreciate the tutoring!

Tony


-------------------------
Opteron 170 @ 2x2400mhz 1.35v
Asus A8n-SLI in an Antec Plus View II w/4 fans
2 GB Corsair XMS @ 2-3-3-6 Stock (2.6) voltage
eVGA 7800 GT @ 470 1200
WD Caviar SATA 250gb 300mb/s
3dmark: 7817 with no AA
 01/25/2006 10:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

make side fan intake.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 01/25/2006 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stickem
Member

Posts: 135
Joined: 12/18/2005

Yes indeed! The side fan should be blowing right at the CPU.
Your case is probably just fine. Just make sure that you are exhausting the heat
from inside it.
 01/26/2006 02:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Calvn_Swing
Senior Member

Posts: 293
Joined: 01/13/2004

There's some ancient post in which Silk the absent achieved a 10C drop in processor temp by taking a paper tube and duct tape and making a duct that brought in fresh air straight to his CPU fan. It wasn't pretty, but it was effective. Spend a little cash and you could make it both (10 bucks or so)

-------------------------
Iwill Zmax DP SFF Barebones kit... (300W PSU, 8 USB, 1 FW, etc...)
Dual AMD Opteron 275's | 2 Gigs (2 Dimms 1024Mb) Patriot RAM 3-3-3-8
WD Caviar 80 Gig HDD - System
WD Raptor 74 Gig HDD
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256
NEC ND-3520A Dual Layer DVD±RW | Mitsumi Floppy/Card Reader combo
 01/26/2006 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
usafschue
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/23/2006

QUOTE(Calvn_Swing @ Jan 26 2006, 02:01 AM)There's some ancient post in which Silk the absent achieved a 10C drop in processor temp by taking a paper tube and duct tape and making a duct that brought in fresh air straight to his CPU fan. It wasn't pretty, but it was effective. Spend a little cash and you could make it both (10 bucks or so)
[right][snapback]605524[/snapback][/right]


Only problem w/that is that the plusview is so fuggin huge that the side fan is all the way down by the GPU, lol. I would have to cut a hole and drill fan holes, which although fun, is just too much for this cheap case!

It runs at 36 idle stable now and 46 load for about 4 hours on dual prime

Thanks,
Tony


-------------------------
Opteron 170 @ 2x2400mhz 1.35v
Asus A8n-SLI in an Antec Plus View II w/4 fans
2 GB Corsair XMS @ 2-3-3-6 Stock (2.6) voltage
eVGA 7800 GT @ 470 1200
WD Caviar SATA 250gb 300mb/s
3dmark: 7817 with no AA
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information