AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Opterons and nForce3 chipsets
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/24/2004 11:52 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/24/2004 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
svrz
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/27/2004

Greetings

I have several questions in regards to the Opterons and the nForce3 chipsets:

1) It looks like iWill will be first one out of the gate with a nForce3 250 Pro MB for the dual Opterons. Does anyone know if Tyan or MSI have any plans to support this chipset for their dual Opteron boards? Furthermore, what is the difference between nForce3 250 GB, nForce3 250 Ultra and nForce3 250 Pro? I know with the first two, there is On-Chip LAN support: http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2150' ">http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2150 However I have not come across a description of nForce3 250 Pro.

2) I've read several posts on this board which state that the VIA chipset is preferable for the Opterons. Is this still true considering the release of nForce3 250 chipsets? Do the VIA boards support On-Chip LAN?

Thanks very much in advance.
 08/24/2004 10:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jason57570
Senior Member

Posts: 707
Joined: 10/07/2003

lol there isnt a nf3-250 opty board, lol

only a msi via
asus via
asus nf3-150

and a few tyan server boards

and the best for single setups by far the SK8V asus

-------------------------
Ati x1900 Crossfire & FX-60 Dual Core
[3DMark 2006=12,573
[3DMark 2005=20,667
[3DMark 2003=42,891
 08/24/2004 11:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
svrz
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/27/2004

QUOTE lol there isnt a nf3-250 opty board, lol

Then iWill's DK8N must be an illusion:

http://www.burningissues.net/hard/DK8N_review/' ">http://www.burningissues.net/hard/DK8N_review/
(Imagine that, pictures and everything. )

And what's this?
http://www.iwillusa.com/produc...ctDe...ail.asp?vID=194' ">http://www.iwillusa.com/produc...ductDetail.asp?vID=194

Hmmm, manuals, drivers and even an RMA form!

Wonders that never cease!

 08/25/2004 02:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jason57570
Senior Member

Posts: 707
Joined: 10/07/2003

dual optys my bad didnt know the iwill was out

"shoves foot in mouth"

nice board that with 2x250 opty's and maybe a x800xt pci-x/8x agp and 2-4 gigs of pc3500 corsair ecc ram "YUMMY" kinda like what I have here but 2x's the parts

fx53
asus sk8v
2gig 4x512 pc3500re corsair
x800xt at 600/600 modded 1u+vmod's
2x74gig raptors..



but dualy nf3-250 looks yummy

-------------------------
Ati x1900 Crossfire & FX-60 Dual Core
[3DMark 2006=12,573
[3DMark 2005=20,667
[3DMark 2003=42,891
 08/25/2004 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
svrz
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/27/2004

QUOTE (jason57570 @ Aug 24 2004, 10:37 PM)dual optys my bad didnt know the iwill was out

"shoves foot in mouth"

nice board that with 2x250 opty's and maybe a x800xt pci-x/8x agp and 2-4 gigs of pc3500 corsair ecc ram "YUMMY" kinda like what I have here but 2x's the parts

fx53
asus sk8v
2gig 4x512 pc3500re corsair
x800xt at 600/600 modded 1u+vmod's
2x74gig raptors..

but dualy nf3-250 looks yummy
No problems, dude. It's all good.

Nice rig you got there.

Take care
 08/30/2004 03:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GNUS inc
Member

Posts: 136
Joined: 10/07/2003

Blank body

-------------------------
AMD rulezzzzz!
www.etegro.com
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information