AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: max memory for opterons
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/30/2004 12:15 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/30/2004 12:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shards_of_glass
Senior Member

Posts: 2123
Joined: 12/31/2003

I know you can have like 16 GB of ram in a 2 way or somethign like that but waht about 8 ways ? I did some calculations, very limited and most definitly wrong, but I got 96gb of RAM, go ahead and laugh, I did but what is the maximum ?

-------------------------
#1 Athlon 64 4000+ / DFI LP UT RDX200 CF-DR / Seagate 7200.10 16MB 320GB SATA-150 / Corsair VS DDR400 1024MB SC
 11/30/2004 01:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

The maximum depends on the memory speed, density, number of slots, voltage, and current memory technology.

As far as addressing it is well about the terabyte range, it's just that memory hasn't reached that point yet.

-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 11/30/2004 09:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shards_of_glass
Senior Member

Posts: 2123
Joined: 12/31/2003

So hypotetically speeking, say I want a opteron server, with maximum allowable memory i don't care about speed and stuff. What mother board can handle the most memory and how much memory can it hold ? Im just wondering what the max is at this point in time.

-------------------------
#1 Athlon 64 4000+ / DFI LP UT RDX200 CF-DR / Seagate 7200.10 16MB 320GB SATA-150 / Corsair VS DDR400 1024MB SC
 11/30/2004 09:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OrangesAway
Senior Member

Posts: 202
Joined: 03/09/2004

The AMD 64 architecture, in 64 bit mode, supports a full 64-bit virtual address space with 4 petabytes of physical memory (2^52 or 52 bits) -- However the initial implementations (Opteron, Athlon FX) support 256 TB (2^48 or 48-bit) virtual memory addresses and 1 TB (2^40 or 40-bit) physical memory addresses.

The current Opteron processors, according to the AMD Functional Data Sheet' ">http://www.amd.com/us-en/asset...nd_tech_docs/31412.pdf, support up to 8 DIMMs with a 128 bit memory interface. The maximum DIMMs can currently be 4 GB (using a stacked DIMM).

So an 8 processor board with 8 DIMM slots per processor at 4 GB per DIMM is 256 GB.

IWILL's 8P board only has 4 DIMMs per processor.

The 4GB DIMMs are REALLY EXPENSIVE, even hard to find an online qoute. Last time I looked (months ago) was in the range of $6000 to $8000 per DIMM. Maybe less today, but you'd likely quickly talk yourself out of building a system with them.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information