AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Can I upgrade to dual-core?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/24/2007 03:11 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/24/2007 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
denka
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/24/2007

I have a Sun Micro W1100Z with Opteron 150 and was considering replacing CPU with Opteron 170 or 175. Sun were unhelpful to answer this question. I realize there are challenges, as their custom motherboard may not have BIOS support for dual-core CPUs... But OTOH it may support them already (as it's same MB as in W2100z, supporting 2 CPUs). Anybody knows? I bet somebody tried that already Please share your experiences.

 01/24/2007 09:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

You could probably get a good idea from Googling your chipset and reading the specs on it.You could whip the side panel off and find out which motherboard you have also and find out about that.

If Sun has bios upgrades for your machine it should state whether it has further support for extra higher level cpu's in there somewhere.

I wouldn't like to say one way or the other really.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 01/24/2007 11:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
denka
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/24/2007

Googling didn't quite help. I know what motherboard this one is based upon, from the excellent article on anandtech.com (just search for W2100Z there): K85AE, which, as I found in other references, is similar to one used by IBM in some of their Intellistation workstations. Similar, and yet very different due to IO extender and CPU Mezzannine riser. And nowhere I could find whether this, effectively quite modern product (although EOL'd by Sun, having been replaced it with Ultra 20) can have its life extended by plugging in newer processor. After all, that was the promise, wasn't it? Sun support would not even try answering my question since this system's 1-year contract is already over. Bummer...
 01/25/2007 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
functional-pc
Senior Member

Posts: 1558
Joined: 01/10/2005

unfortunately, that board is set up for 940 socket... so the 150 that is in there is a sledghammer. higher rated parts like a troy-core are getting harder to find. switching to an italy-core might be risky. if the rest of the machine satisfies you, look at a board change... then you can go to whatever socket you want.

bios update does allow troy-core upgrade... but why would you? would a 254 really make a difference? just build (or have built) another rig that recycles your drives... or expands upon them.

-------------------------
Latest workstation:
Lian li PC-A05B, KN3-SLi, 4400 Brisbane, Freezer 64 Pro, 2 gigs Super-Talent T800UX2GC4, 36 raptor system drive, Caviar RE 320 storage drive, Hiper 580, Ati 1300 Pro, running Vista Home Premium 64-bit with Symantec 10.2.224
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information