AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Best Chipset for Dual processor AMD Opteron?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/17/2007 10:39 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/17/2007 10:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
misos
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 05/09/2007

What will be the best chipset to have for a Socket F Dual processor Board.

Thanks
 05/17/2007 09:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
austinbike
Member

Posts: 140
Joined: 11/27/2006

"Best" is a relative term. There are 2 chipsets, nVidia and Broadcom. I would choose a Broadcom chipset if you are looking for the most "corporate" chipset and I would choose nVidia if you are looking for the highest performance.

nVidia tends to go for performance and you will see more driver revs with their product. Broadcom tends to be more stable with fewer driver revs, but then it may not have all of the fancy features because its targeted at a corporate customer that wants more conformity
 05/29/2007 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Spilt__milk
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/27/2007

well i choose Supermicro H8DA3-2 or ASUS KFN32-d or TYAN S2915 REV F. ANy of these 3 beasts
 06/07/2007 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nil Einne
Member

Posts: 36
Joined: 08/11/2006

Is there any particular reason you want to talk about 3 diff mobos, all with nVidia chipsets from what I can tell in this thread about different chipsets for the Opteron? Have you considered using the new thread button instead of asking an offtopic question in a semi-dead thread?

Edited: 06/07/2007 at 07:33 AM by Nil Einne
 06/07/2007 10:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

Not many choices for AMD Opteron chipsets. I hate to say it but my next board will be Intel based. I don't like the limited choices for Socket F Opteron server boards.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 07/21/2007 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Brane
Member

Posts: 126
Joined: 07/12/2006

Isn't everything new supposed to be for multisocket boards as well ?

AMD/ATI's 690 and 790 should AFAIK have no problems working with Optys.

IIWY I would wait for Barcelona/Agena/Phenom and see which new boards will those chips bring to the market...

-------------------------
On the journey of life I chose the psycho path
 07/22/2007 07:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
austinbike
Member

Posts: 140
Joined: 11/27/2006

Barcelona should fit into any rev f board. The long-term upgradability is pretty good. On the Intel side you have to keep swapping out equipment with every new family.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information