AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Opteron 1352 Motherboards?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/25/2008 07:51 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by austinbike, on Wednesday, January 7, 2009 1:14 AM

Answer:
I also have a 1354 and 1356 running on a GA MA78GM-S2H and a GA-MA78GPM-DS2H with no issues.

Again, I don't believe that they are on the supported list, but both are working fine.
 06/25/2008 07:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
summerisle
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/05/2008

Can anyone point me to a list of motherboards that'll run the new single-socket barcelona opterons? In particular i'm looking for something I can use an Opteron 1352 in, workstation use.

Thanks!
 06/26/2008 08:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ianlbw
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/23/2008

I have a similar interest but am unable to find anything concrete. When searching for a motherboard for my present second generation Opteron the understanding at that time was the promised AM2 quad cores would also be compatible with those recommended boards. I eventually used an Opteron 1216/ Supermicro H8SMI-2-0 motherboard combination and had no problems. I plan to swap the 1216 for a 1352 in the near future.
 07/16/2008 09:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ianlbw
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/23/2008

http://www.supermicro.com/Aplu...000/MCP55/H8SMi-2.cfm
This link suggests the 1352 is supported.
 07/17/2008 07:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
austinbike
Member

Posts: 140
Joined: 11/27/2006

It is not expressly supported by Gigabyte, but I know that the GA-MA69GM-S2H does work with both a 1354 and 1356. I have used it with both, but you need the latest BIOS (F4 or F5).

For a true server board, I would choose Tyan:

http://www.tyan.com/product_board_detail.aspx?pid=613
 01/01/2009 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DeltaNiner
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/01/2009

This from an overclockers site:

http://www.ripping.org/database.php?cpuid=730

ID : 387637Submitted by Miyabi Yukino | Fri, 11 Jul 2008 17:59:04 +0200 | Validated by CPU-Z 1.46
AMD PhenomxcA?lALK
Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition SP2 (Build 3790)
CPU Arch : 1 CPU - 4 Cores - 4 Threads
CPU PSN : Quad-Core AMD Opteron Processor 1356
CPU EXT : MMX(+) 3DNow!(+) SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSE4A x86-64
CPUID : F.2.3 / Extended : 10.2
CPU Cache : L1 : 4 x 64 / 4 x 64 KB - L2 : 4 x 512 KB
CPU Cache : L3 : 2048 KB
Core : (65 nm) / Stepping : DR-B3

Freq : 2875.14 MHz (250.01 * 11.5)
MB Brand : Gigabyte
MB Model : GA-MA790FX-DQ6
NB : ATI RD790 rev 00
SB : ATI SB600 rev 00

RAM : 4096 MB DDR2 Dual Channel
RAM Speed : 500 MHz (1:2) @ 5-5-5-12
Slot 1 : 2048MB (PC2-6400)
Slot 1 Manufacturer : PDP Systems
Slot 2 : 2048MB (PC2-6400)
Slot 2 Manufacturer : PDP Systems

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ID : 334336Submitted by TK QC PASS | Mon, 24 Mar 2008 10:40:47 +0100 | Validated by CPU-Z 1.44.1
AMD Phenom 5200
Windows XP Professional SP2 (Build 2600)
CPU Arch : 1 CPU - 4 Cores - 4 Threads
CPU PSN : Quad-Core AMD Opteron Processor 1352
CPU EXT : MMX(+) 3DNow!(+) SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSE4A x86-64
CPUID : F.2.2 / Extended : 10.2
CPU Cache : L1 : 4 x 64 / 4 x 64 KB - L2 : 4 x 512 KB
CPU Cache : L3 : 2048 KB
Core : (65 nm) / Stepping : DR-B2

Freq : 2625.17 MHz (250.02 * 10.5)
MB Brand : Asus
MB Model : M3A78-EMH HDMI
NB : AMD ID9600 rev 00
SB : ATI ID439D rev 00

GPU Type : GeForce 8400 GS
GPU Clocks : Core 459 MHz / RAM 400 MHz
DirectX Version : 9.0c

RAM : 2048 MB DDR2 Dual Channel
RAM Speed : 416.7 MHz (3:5) @ 5-5-5-13
Slot 1 : 1024MB (PC2-6400)
Slot 1 Manufacturer : Transcend Information
Slot 2 : 1024MB (PC2-6400)
Slot 2 Manufacturer : Transcend Information
 01/06/2009 06:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
austinbike
Member

Posts: 140
Joined: 11/27/2006

Answer Answer
I also have a 1354 and 1356 running on a GA MA78GM-S2H and a GA-MA78GPM-DS2H with no issues.

Again, I don't believe that they are on the supported list, but both are working fine.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information