AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: No boot opteron 2352
Topic Summary: problem
Created On: 01/15/2009 04:42 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/15/2009 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dave654678
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/15/2009

installed a new opteron

fans dont turn on
no light on motherboard
power runs to the rest of other components

The opteron is a quadcore 2352 NOT HE edition

i have a 650 watt psu, its enermax

i was running a 2.1 dual core opteron before

if i bent a pin in the socket, would this cause a problem
do i need to up the power to my mobo? i have a 4 pin connector avaible on the motherboard

its a supermicro h8dae-2 If you look, you'll see i really dont want to have to replace this motherboard, and i cant ditch two brand new cpus

so i'll try anything (except non-consensual bumlove)
 01/15/2009 05:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dave654678
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/15/2009

do i have enough power is the question im asking
oh, i got a 2900xt gfx card which i unplugged
mobo got a 24pin connector ( :S )
am i just going to have to bit the bullet

and also, how do i know if i static damaged it (would i have felt static? or would it just happen)
 05/12/2009 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
server_d
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/08/2007

I have the same problem. How did this end?
 07/16/2009 10:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TomKeough
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/21/2009

Originally posted by: server_d

I have the same problem. How did this end?


I have a potentially similar issue. Has this issue been abandoned by the moderators?

-------------------------
Tom Keough
 07/18/2009 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
server_d
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/08/2007

My problem was solved by doing a BIOS upgrade (via biosman). I put a nehalem chip in a nehalam compatible board, but without the latest BIOS it was just dead.

New BIOS...poof...just worked.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information