AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Opteron 1352 AM2+ & Asus M2N-L
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/17/2009 12:55 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by ahmed31, on Wednesday, January 28, 2009 11:59 PM

Answer:
The board and the processor combination is working fine.....and the temp is too good.... around 9 to 10 deg. centigrade....
 01/17/2009 12:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ahmed31
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/17/2009

I am planning to buy an opteron 1352 am2+ and the vendor has suggested a Asus M2N-L mobo. I am not sure if the M2N-L will support the Opteron as the Opty is a AM2+ Processor and the mobo is AM2. Please suggest...
 01/28/2009 11:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ahmed31
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/17/2009

Answer Answer
The board and the processor combination is working fine.....and the temp is too good.... around 9 to 10 deg. centigrade....
 02/26/2009 04:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
joachimp
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/12/2009

I like microATX, was hoping that my Asus M2NBP-VM CSM AM2 board work with the 1352. BUT no, no post, even with the latest beta Bios updates, even though Asus lists support for _some optys_. Based on a review at *egg, I found someone who got their 1352 to work with a GIGABYTE GA-MA74GM-S2 . I took the $50 gamble. And I now I couldn't be more happy, 4cores 2x2GB ram with that Gigabyte board. Those extra couple cores make quite a difference when it comes to running a VM smoothly while also having the overhead to be listening to music, updating, or encoding media on the host computer(Debian-Sid Linux). I had a Athlon 64 X2 3800 Windsor 65W before the 1352 Opteron, it was nice, but to my amazement, the 1352 runs much cooler. Keep in mind that I used the stock heatsink, and I like my computer seen not heard. My room is kept at a stable 20C, the Opteron stays at about 34C, where the Athlon usually was somewhere around 40C. Oh, and BTW, spoke with AMD support about the AM/AM+ compatibility. You can put a AM+ chip in an AM board, but you loose on the top CPU-FSB speed, the CPU clock will still run at what it is supposed to, but the throughput will be limited by the motherboard to AM2 spec.
 04/05/2009 07:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bluelightning007
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/05/2009

Hello,

A few days ago i got an Opteron 1352 Quad-Core CPU and a mainboard ASUS M2N-LR.
The big surprise was that this combination of CPU and mainboard wasn't work at all at first boot, becouse the BIOS version that cames with mainboard was 505 didn't suport the CPU IDs for Quad-Core.

The solution was to boot the system with my AMD Athlon x2, upgrading the BIOS to version 515 and put back the Opteron and system bootup perfectly.

I like the ASUS M2N-LR becouse it gots 2x Gigabit Ethernet Broadcom 5721.

Best regards
 06/26/2010 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WKL
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/26/2010

I own a ASUS M2N motherboard and i was wondering if I can mount an Processor AMD Opteron 1214 2.20GHz Socket AM2 ?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information