AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dual Opteron 6128 build - no post
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/21/2011 05:12 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/21/2011 05:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HeXeD
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/21/2011

Here is a thread I posted on 3 other forums. I figured it would be good to post it here too to get people's opinions of AMD Opteron 6128's. I'm almost 100% that people won't be able to help much in my situation.. but here we go:

_______________________________

I received a Asus DGPE-D16 and 2 Opteron 6128 (8 core) from the egg. Along with it I also purchased 32G of regular DDR3 (which the board supports), a Rosewill server case, and a 750W Antec Earthwatts.

I put together everything and powered it on and I received no post. No beeps, just fans spinning. I have to either flip the off switch on the PSU or unplug the PSU to shut it off. The power button is not functioning at all beyond the point of turning it on.

I finally put the mobo on the box it came in, and with 1 CPU connected and 2 sticks of ram, the computer posts with no issue. When I add a second opteron 6128, along with another 2 sticks of ram, I get absolutely no post as described above. Here is what I tried to troubleshoot:

1. Made sure that my second processor was functioning correctly by putting it into socket 1. It boots up with no issue so I can safely say that there are no real "problems" with the CPU.
2. I have a 550W power supply that I changed out the earthwatts for. I figured it is 200W lower than my earthwatts, but right now I am only worried about posting. This is with minimal ram, no HD's connected, no fans connected. Just 2 processors, 2 sticks of ram, and the power switch plugged into the mobo. It still displayed the exact same issue.
3. Checked the second socket for bent or stray pins. I seriously spent 15+ minutes going through this thing with a magnifying glass and a flash light. I have very good vision so I was able to see that every pin appeared to be perfect.
4. I checked to see if there are any jumpers on the board that could affect the 2 cpu's from posting. None that I could find
5. Checked the mobo with a magnifying glass for burns, capacitor buldges, etc..etc. It looks perfect.

So I called up Asus support. After going round and round with motherboard support telling me that they cannot help me until I "look hard enough" to find the serial number because the one I am giving them is not a real serial number. Once I spoke with a second person I asked them if there was a difference between motherboard support and server motherboard support. He said most definitely and transferrred me over to server support. They got all the troubleshooting info and then issued an RMA. It was supposed to be shipped overnight (standard for server motherboards). The guy that shipped it out acidentely did it ground so I complained and another tech sent ANOTHER motherboard overnight.

Well it arrived yesterday and the first thing I did was put it on the box, and attempted to boot the motherboard with 1 cpu. 1 cpu worked with no issue. posts beeps and everything. When I installed the second cpu, I get absolutely no post. *****!!!!

So what do you think? What is the most likely culprit? I have been doing this for such a long time that I could probably build these things blindfolded (of course I didn't though) so I highly doubt that it has anything to do with me. Could I have received ANOTHER defective board from Asus? I just think it is highly unlikely that that is the case. What am I missing?

I spoke to Asus tech support again this morning and they were dumbfounded. The only thing that the tech could do was make another case and refer me to the RMA department. At the end of the call she told me that I should make sure the stepping is exactly the same on both Opteron 6128's. I bought these processors from newegg at the same time. I highly doubt that they are different stepping but when I get home after work I will check. Do you think that is my issue? Could a different stepping for these Opteron's even cause something like that? This is my first dual processor board so even though I am confident in my building ability, I wanted to see if any of you with experience with this config have any ideas or suggestions.

So far though I have ANOTHER board that was shipped ground that is still in the process of shipping to my house and will be here Friday. I guess I will find out if it is the board or not because if all 3 have the same issue then I can most assuredly say that there is some other factor I am totally missing. the only other factors are:

1. Power - Right now I have my computer up and running 4 VM's using about 20G of memory, with 6 SATA hard drives, 5 120mm fans, 2 80mm fans, and a DVD drive. With that said, could the power supply still be the issue? Do I need some sort of specification I am missing?

2. RAM - Couldn't possibly be the issue because without ANY ram installed, I should at LEAST get the "no ram" post beeps like I do when only 1 proc is installed

3. Processors - Couldn't possibly be the functionality since each processor is able to run my 4 VM's in 1 socket with no issues whatsoever. Only thing I have not checked is the stepping, what do you think?

4. Motherboard - Even though this is the second motherboard, this is really the only thing I would assume it is. Am I crazy to think that? I get a 3rd one on Friday so I guess I will know for sure

Thanks in advance to anyone who evern read through this long ass post, and special thanks to anyone who even attempts to give me any ideas.

_________________________________________

So basically.. I wanted to know from you guys.. have you ever heard of an issue where the computer won't even POST with 2 CPU's that are of different stepping? I'm going home in a few hours to find out if the cpu's are in fact a different stepping, but I wanted to know even if they are, would people experience an issue posting?
 07/21/2011 06:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
P . P . L .
B1FF

Posts: 138
Joined: 07/17/2010

Hi HeXeD.

It might be a silly question but do you have both 8 pin cpu power plugs plugged in the board, because i'm sure you need both to run 2 cpu's.

-------------------------

 07/21/2011 06:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HeXeD
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/21/2011

I sure do. I have 1 8-pin directly from the power supply, and I have another molex to 8-pin adapter I purchased on newegg. The adapter seems cheap and flimsy so I went out and bought another adapter. The main reason is because it is cheap so it is easy to replace.. and through all of my troubleshooting the only things not replaced are the 2 cpus and the 8-pin adapter.

Here is a question regarding that... Right now I have Socket 1 with a CPU in it and it is running flawlessly. I noticed that if I unplug that 8-pin adapter and just run with 1 8-pin plugged.. I cannot post. Same symptoms of fans starting up but nothing else and I cannot turn off my power with the power button, I have to unplug or turn off the psu. So I was assuming that if the adapter was bad, I wouldn't even be able to post with 1 cpu in socket 1. Could it actually be a problem that is not showing itself because I only have 1 cpu plugged in?
 07/22/2011 02:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
P . P . L .
B1FF

Posts: 138
Joined: 07/17/2010

Hi .

I had a look on the egg and found this y cable it might help with power supply at least, i think it was around $6.

EPS - Y - cable.

I'm no server X pert, but have you had a look in the Bios for some power management settings that might be causing some of your problems.

-------------------------

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information