AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Opteron 250 Not Detecting SATA 1TB Hard Drive
Topic Summary: AMD Opteron 250 Not Detecting SATA 1TB Hard Drive
Created On: 09/25/2011 11:16 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/25/2011 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wilayat
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/25/2011

Hy Guys!

i have AMD Opteron 250 and i am trying to install SATA 1TB Hard Drive, and it stucks in boot. and shows just the name of hardrive, and is not able to recognize its Size,
and if i tries to install any other hard drive lest the 1TB , i will detect.
Thanks!
 09/25/2011 11:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Dying drive??

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 10/02/2011 04:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wilayat
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/25/2011

yes Dying drive, and same drive works for other systems, i cant figure this out , what is going on even it is not allowing me to go for BIOs,
 10/02/2011 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Is it the same if you jumper the drive to force SATA-I and is there any BIOS updates for your motherboard?

-------------------------
 10/04/2011 02:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wilayat
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/25/2011

SATA drive has no jumper options , yes u are right may b i need to update BIOs, but dont know where to find Bios Updates , can u pleas guide me?
 10/04/2011 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Motherboard and drive brand+model please?

-------------------------
 10/08/2011 04:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wilayat
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/25/2011

here is the details of AMD procesor which i am using,

AMIBIOS Motherboard Manufacturer Identification
Version 1.4 (01/12/2004) Copyright 2003 American Megatrends, Inc.

This file has recorded information useful in identifying the manufacturer
of this motherboard. The information is listed below:

An AMIBIOS ID String Was Detected:
63-0100-000001-00101111-032906-OPTERON
- ---- ------ ------
| | | |
| | | Chipset/BIOS Info
| | BIOS Build Date
| Manufacturer ID
BIOS ROM Information
AMIBIOS ROM Size: 512 KB
BIOS Build Date: Mar 29 2006
Motherboard Manufacturer Code: 0001 Not listed in MAN.DAT file

AMIBIOS Build Tag: 0AAAA001
AMIBIOS Project ID: 0AAAA - Project Name: Triems_0

For more information on upgrading your BIOS go to http://www.ami.com/support/bios.cfm?refer=mbid
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SMBIOS info:
Manufacturer : TYAN
Product Name : S2885 Thunder K8W Mainboard

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AMIDIAG Suite tests and diagnoses every hardware subsystem on your PC!
A professional tool for developers, manufacturers and technicians.
Go to www.amidiag.com for more information on AMIDiag.
 10/08/2011 04:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wilayat
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/25/2011

i had updated bios, and issue is resolved, but now i am going through another issue, and that is, when i am trying to install win Server 2008 R2 or Win 7, i will not detecting hard drives and asking for drivers, i had check TYAN website they are also just providing IDE drivers for OS: Windows 2000 / Windows XP 32-bit / Windows 2003 32-bit but not for win Server 2008 R2 or Win 7, is there any other way to get drivers for win Server 2008 R2 or Win 7 ??
 10/08/2011 04:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wilayat
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/25/2011

i had updated Bios for TYAN site following is the link for Bios provide by TYAN for S2885

http://tyan.com/support_downlo...ers.aspx?model=S.S2885
 07/25/2012 06:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimmiejoe
Lurker

Posts: 9
Joined: 10/08/2005

Not sure if you resolved this or not, but if i remember correctly the board is based on an nVidia chipset, so you can try to load the nVidia SATA and RAID drivers to have the drive correctly identified at the load driver screen where you are asked to select a partion to install the OS.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information