AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dual channel or single channel?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/17/2003 12:51 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/17/2003 12:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtc4u
Senior Member

Posts: 240
Joined: 10/10/2003

Do the Opterons support dual channel DDR?

-------------------------
Search the stars with overclockers.com seti team.

Main.............................................Secondary
<span style='color:#00
 11/17/2003 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ZapWizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1393
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yes, Opterons, and Athlon 64 FX's support 128bit DDR (Which is both Dual DDR and 128bit combined)

A little explination of the differenced between 64-bit, 128-bit and Dual DDR

With 64-Bit DDR a processor can grab up to 64-bits of data per clock over the memory bus.
If you have two dimms on your bus, latency can become an issue as it can take up to 6 extra clock cycles to change from reading Dimm 0, to reading from Dimm 1

Dual DDR reduced latency on the bus by seperating the dimms onto two seperate 64-bit Busses. This means during the 3clock cycles (CAS3) while Dimm 0 is in executing a command, the memory controller can take that time and issue a command to Dimm1, then flip-flop between the two reading and writing to each Bus in turn, but with less latency.
On a Athlon XP the bus to the processor is only 64-bits wide, so a Dual DDR setup has to flip-flop between dimms tranfering 64bits at a dim.

128-bit DDR can work like Dual DDR, writing two interlaced sets of 64-bit data.
(By flip-floping which dimm to write or read from)
But 128-bit DDR also can reach out and grab data from both dimms at the same time if needed.
This is possible on a Athlon FX, or Opteron
The memory contoller can handle a full 128bits per clock cycle rather then two sets of 64bits per 2 clocks.

-------------------------
' ">http://www.ZapWizard.com
The opinions expressed above do not represent the views of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 11/19/2003 08:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtc4u
Senior Member

Posts: 240
Joined: 10/10/2003

If only i could find dual channel registered ram that didn't cost my nuts, an arm and a leg including the fingers and toes.

-------------------------
Search the stars with overclockers.com seti team.

Main.............................................Secondary
<span style='color:#00
 11/24/2003 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bitey
Elite

Posts: 1492
Joined: 10/07/2003

Corsair has some nice registered (non ecc) ddr sticks in 333 and 400 flavours for opteron/FX 's, at very similar prices to their normal (high quality) stuff.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information