AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Trouble with Zalman 7000B-AlCu
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/09/2005 05:13 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/09/2005 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

I'm trying to put my Opteron rig together and am following Zalman's instructions but the little standoffs that you are supposed to put on are too low and the fan's bracket isn't meeting the standoffs. Should I leave the original HSF plastic piece on or am I doing something wrong? Anyone else have this problem? /blink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blink.gif' />

Opteron 146
Biostar TFORCE4 Ultra
Zalman 7000B-AlCu

I would appreciate any help I can get.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 12/09/2005 05:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

QUOTE(bp1019 @ Dec 9 2005, 05:13 PM)I'm trying to put my Opteron rig together and am following Zalman's instructions but the little standoffs that you are supposed to put on are too low and the fan's bracket isn't meeting the standoffs.  Should I leave the original HSF plastic piece on or am I doing something wrong?  Anyone else have this problem?  /blink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blink.gif' />

Opteron 146
Biostar TFORCE4 Ultra
Zalman 7000B-AlCu

I would appreciate any help I can get.
[right][snapback]563831[/snapback][/right]


Okay, I just left the original back plate and HSF plastic piece and it fit fine. If this isn't cool then let me know but I think it should be fine. /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

EDIT: Wish Zalman had some better directions (or directions that actually worked).

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 12/10/2005 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

Instead a adding a new thread (didn't want to clutter the board), when I fired the Opty up the board was feeding it 1.4v and I have seen lots of people running these stock at 1.3v. The temps it was showing in the BIOS was like 42C which in my opinion is too high. Should I rollback the voltage to 1.3v or should I try resetting the Zalman with new paste? I also am considering using the stock HSF and stock thermal pad and seeing if the Zalman may be pressed too hard against the IHS. What do you guys think? Thnx.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 12/10/2005 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

Bump? /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 12/12/2005 10:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

Ohhhhh, let me know how that TForce works for you and overclocking, im a Biostar Fan and would probably rather get that than what everyone else has.....coughdficough

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 12/12/2005 12:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

QUOTE(r3sil3 @ Dec 12 2005, 10:37 AM)Ohhhhh, let me know how that TForce works for you and overclocking, im a Biostar Fan and would probably rather get that than what everyone else has.....coughdficough
[right][snapback]565694[/snapback][/right]



Exactly why I got it but for some reason after I fire it up it runs at 41C idle and in the 50s under OCCT. It did not pass OCCT at stock speeds with the Zalman 7000-AlCu and I can't figure out why. It could be the cheap OCZ "performance" RAM. The board may be tempermental like DFIs are about RAM. I got some Ballistix coming tommorrow so I'm going to use the stock HSF and reseat everything and reinstall Windows and see if it fixes the stability issues. Does anyone know why my temps could be this high at stock speeds? The Zalman does press abit on the IHS which is why I'm gonna go stock cooling but still, 42C at idle, this is driving me crazy (I have AS5 on it too). The Vcore is at 1.4v and I've seen people with the Opties at 1.3v so could it be the voltage is higher than it needs to be? I would really appreciate some help. /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 12/19/2005 08:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

The temp is OK. As long as your CPU does not pass 65°C you don't have to worry about anything. At 70° you should start to worry (or better: switch off the system and check everything).

The recommended Vcore is dependend on the CPU revision. My (old) 246ers run at 1.5V.

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information