AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Mix 246 HE 55watt & 246 89watt CPUs on K8WE?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/01/2005 12:33 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/01/2005 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ernief
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/01/2005

I have one 246 opteron on my K8WE(S2895) mobo, 89 watts. Want to add another opteron 246. Can the second CPU be the lower wattage opteron 246 HE and not present any problems? Both would be identical except for the wattage. Both are CG stepping.

Second question - Can I have two, 246 opterons on the K8WE, BIOIS 1.01, one with a CO stepping and the other a CG stepping.

I see that for the K8W (S2875) there was a BIOS update made to allow mixed CO and CG CPU support.
www.tyan.com/support/html/b_s2875.html

In another support document for the K8WE, Tyan is indicating that the K8WE will only support CG stepping or higher. Is this correct?
www.tyan.com/support/html/cpu_athlon_duron_opteron.html

 08/01/2005 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

I don't think that you should mix a "normal" 89W Opteron with a HE stepping. Both CPUs need completely different voltages and I doubt that the power regulators will be able to provide different voltages for the CPUs.

If you already have a CG stepping Opteron you should not add a C0 if the manual / support document claims that it is not supported.

BUT: I have never had the chance to test any of the mentioned combinations. I just would not risk to destroy a HE Opteron.

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

 08/02/2005 06:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Opteron
Senior Member

Posts: 220
Joined: 10/08/2003

QUOTE(ernief @ Aug 1 2005, 08:33 AM)I have one 246 opteron on my K8WE(S2895) mobo, 89 watts. Want to add another opteron 246. Can the second CPU be the lower wattage opteron 246 HE and not present any problems? Both would be identical except for the wattage. Both are CG stepping.

Second question - Can I have two, 246 opterons on the K8WE, BIOIS 1.01, one with a CO stepping and the other a CG stepping.

I see that for the K8W (S2875) there was a BIOS update made to allow mixed CO and CG CPU support.
www.tyan.com/support/html/b_s2875.html

In another support document for the K8WE, Tyan is indicating that the K8WE will only support CG stepping or higher. Is this correct?
www.tyan.com/support/html/cpu_athlon_duron_opteron.html
[right][snapback]472501[/snapback][/right]

Hi,

AMD recommends to run same CPUs with the same revision. However minimum requirement is the same voltage. If the CPUs are running on different vcores, it will defenitly not work.
As a result I doubt that you can run an 146HE and a normal one, as the HE has a lower vcore (1.3V vs. 1.5V). But you can drop in a CG revision CPU to your C0, as these revision uses the same vcore.
In the latter case, you may get an "Warning" message after booting. As it was posted before in the forum:

http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=52306' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=52306

Though this message only appears, if you mix C0 with (very old) B3 CPUs.

In short: Try to add a CPU with same vcore, and it will run.

byebye

Opteron
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information