AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Unable to Reboot
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/28/2005 09:52 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/28/2005 09:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bobt1956
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/27/2005

I have a Asus A8V Deluxe 939 w/ AMD64 3700

I've successfully overclocked from 2.2 to 2.86 and everythings working fine.

Except, I can not restart with windows, use the reset button, or ctrl-alt-del and reboot.

With any of the above the computer will shutdown fine but then it hangs and doesn't restart. The monitor light goes orange and the drive light blinks. Each time I have to use the power button and turn it off and on in order to boot again.

Notes:
1. All the above works fine without overclocking.
2. I have the latest bios 1017 (does the same with previous bios versions)
3. I have all the latest drivers. (however this goes back to the reset button/ctrl-alt-del)
4. A windows shutdown will power off without problem.

I'm thinking it may be related to the monitor signal....

Help, Any ideas?
 12/28/2005 10:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

QUOTE(bobt1956 @ Dec 28 2005, 10:52 AM)I have a Asus A8V Deluxe 939 w/ AMD64 3700

I've successfully overclocked from 2.2 to 2.86 and everythings working fine.

Except, I can not restart with windows, use the reset button, or ctrl-alt-del and reboot.

With any of the above the computer will shutdown fine but then it hangs and doesn't restart.  The monitor light goes orange and the drive light blinks. Each time I have to use the power button and turn it off and on in order to boot again.

Notes:
1. All the above works fine without overclocking.
2. I have the latest bios 1017 (does the same with previous bios versions)
3. I have all the latest drivers. (however this goes back to the reset button/ctrl-alt-del)
4. A windows shutdown will power off without problem.

I'm thinking it may be related to the monitor signal....

Help, Any ideas?
[right][snapback]576945[/snapback][/right]


Don't overclock. The timing errors could cause data corruption. It is not the monitor signal. It is a lockup for timing problems.







-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 12/28/2005 10:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
derGhostrider
Case Modder

Posts: 1465
Joined: 04/04/2004

Yes, mckennma is right. You over-overclocked your system. If it would be just a monitor signal problem the system would boot up fine. Maybe you could also switch the monitor off and on again to have a video signal again.
Try a milder OCing or better: forget about that and run the system at stock speed.

-------------------------
Regards,
  Ghostrider

·CPUs - 2*Opteron 246
·Mainboard - Tyan Thunder K8W S2885ANRF
·RAM - 4*Corsair TwinX1024RE-3200LL (4GB, 8*512MB, DDR400, 2-3-2)
·Graphics - HIS IceQ-II X800Pro
·HDD - Western Digital Raptor WD740GD, 74GB, 10k
·RAID - 3Ware 7850, 64bit PCI, 8chn hardware RAID
·RAID-HDDs - 5*WD800JB
·Optical - 1*SlimSize CD-ROM; 1*NEC7441 DVD-RW
·Sound - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information